Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

The Swim Home
2008-07-30, 1:21 p.m.

Day 1438

Didn�t really get what I needed form the meeting last night. Have a session with the therapist coming up Thursday and another meeting later that afternoon. Maybe some relief will come from those.

I�m sitting here having lunch, listening to this whooshingnoise emanating from someplace over my head. I wishfully think that maybe it�s only the building�s air system working a little vigorously. Then I go check the weather.

Do you see the �Gates Center� near the center of the map? Go two names up and a wee bit to the right. Right now, I am almost directly under the �w� of Maplewood. In all that orange, pouring down rainy shit.

Now. Back to Gates Center. Below that is 'Gates'. To the right of that is a little spur of expressway pointing down & right. I live just off the end of that spur. In a few hours, I need to ride home. On my bike. Now, I realize that the current wicked mofo rain system might move through.

But look what�s still coming:

Typical patterns move weather from Buffalo towards Rottenchester. Takes between 1 and 2 hours to make the trip, depending. But you see all that green stuff west of Buffalo, out over Lake Erie? It�s all headed this way. I won�t post the map, but there�s an unbroken patch of rain all the way back to freakin Cleveland! If I want to stay dry, it�s looking like I�ll be waiting till early evening before being able to ride. I�d call home and have someone come get me in the van, but that kinda defeats the purpose of riding ones bike to work.

So? Bite the bullet, hope for the best, and expect to not really need a shower when I get home. Maybe just a bit of soap and a rinse.

On the �to do� list for tonight:

Put up the *#%&$ tiles that have been falling off from behind the stove. Have no idea what�s causing it, unless it�s just that resin tiles don�t like thin set all that much. It�s only the cut tiles that are falling too. Weird . . .

Get the tent & camping gear down and give it a once over. Prep time for the family reunion this weekend.

Get to Beers of the World and stock up. Maybe see what the boys want.

Estimate materials for pond. The only real guess if how many patio blocks I might need to bolster each of the shelf edges. I�ll guess a little short. If I need 10 or 20 more I can go get some. If I have 20 extra, wtf am I going to do with them?

Tomorrow�s to do:

Go get head shrunk with Annette.
Go to BotW in case I don�t get there tonight.
Stop in at Land Crafters and order pond stuff. Request 8/8 delivery.
Al Anon meeting. Ride there?
Pack van. Be ready to leave by 7am Friday.
Maybe (maybe) grout tiles that were re-applied Wednesday.

This afternoon�s to do:

Pray for the rain to move through quickly!


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks