Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Helloooo fishies!
2008-08-30, 10:52 a.m.

Day 1469 (I think)

We interrupt the daily drivel for these not-so-important announcements:

Not all the little feeder fish are gone!

And

I think I know where the missing ones went.

I was headed out to the puddle to play with more of the rocks when I spied thisd little orange thing streaking through the pond. Thought maybe it was an old Maple seed being wafted on the currents (Our Norway maples are starting to drop seeds now. The sugars & silvers were done months ago, NOW the Norways start. Sheesh!)

Anyhow.

Then I saw another, but it was kinda white & brown. Then I paid attention and found 4 or 5 in there, lurking amongst the rocks on the edge or down deep along the liner seams.

Cleaned the skimmer basket and found another in there too. THat's 4 in the skimmer. Noticed too that if the little guys (or gals - who can tell what sex a freakin fish is?) get in there juuuuusssst right they can get sucked through the basket and into the rear portion of the skimmer. Where the pump is. You can figure out the rest. Eeww.

So all is not lost! The water is probably habitable for the rest of the fish too. I'll do a chemistry check (pH, ammonia & phosphorus) and see where we stand. This could help the deck/porch project move along too. I can finally get the old pond filled in. Just in time to dig post holes.

Better get back to work. Gorgeous weather here today, don't want to waste it.

Enjoy the long weekend everybody!! (Well, all the Americans at least) (Sorry Anna!)

Sneaking in to add: We're up to 10 survivors that I've counted now. They hide in the damndest places! So that's 10 living, 4 in the skimmer basket, 10 unaccounted for (possibly fish meal). Not near as bad as the total disaster I thought it was 2 days ago. Mother Nature is quite the jokester, ain't she?


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks