Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Dilemma
2008-10-25, 4:39 p.m.

Day 1525

Believe it or not, there was an entry posted a couple days ago and there's another in draft form.

This visit is just to share a dilemma and vent a wee bit. You have been warned.

I worked this morning. Sucks on a Saturday, but what's a guy to do. This left Cindy to her own devices for the morning. She did responsible, adult stuff for most of the morning - car inspection, got lamps for the soon to be built back porch, checked out new washers & ceiling fans.

Then she headed to Zach's to do laundry. Zach & Jill are down visiting her parents this weekend, so they left us one of their keys so we could go in and use their washer & dryer. Of course, along with 3 loads of laundry, Cindy took along a bottle of hooch. This I know because she called around 1:45 to see what I was up to. By then all of her audible tells were screaming for attention.

Now, she had to drive all of 5 miles home, drunk. Were she to get a DWI, I'm prepared for that. She isn't, but while she's sitting in jail, NOT bailed out, she can contemplate her recent decisions.

My dilemma is this - while she had me on the phone, yakking away, preventing me from working on the laundry room, she told me she was supposed to chaperon a soccer match later in the afternoon.

Al Anon teachings tell me I'm supposed to let the alcoholic suffer the consequences of their decisions, let them fall to their bottom. Suffer consequences, yes, but we're not to influence events so as to make that bottom approach faster. That's exerting control, and we've already admitted we have no control over events or other people.

But. If I had kids at a scholastic/athletic event, I'd want to know if one of the adults hired to watch over them was drunk. In light of that, I feel compelled to call the AD and suggest that he check his chaperons for attentiveness and just general rational decision making.

But it's meddling and goes against everything I;ve learned in Al Anon.

Instead, once Cindy got home from Zach's I asked her if she thought she was in any kind of condition to be keeping an eye on a bunch of high school kids watching their soccer teams in the state end of season tournament. I asked her of maybe she wanted to call in sick, considering her condition. Of course, she denied she was drunk. I was downstairs, sizing up the needs for tomorrow's plumbing extravaganza when she left.

I'm half hoping she gets in a one car accident on the way to the game. Is that fucked up, or what?


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks