Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

How NOT to Start a Week
2009-01-12, 2:47 p.m.

Day 1603 How NOT to Start a Week

Two things about the colonoscopy I had. A � it was only a screening. B � it went fine. Clean as a whistle, not a polyp in sight. Even have some photo�s if the inner workings � all nice & clean. Now, I�m still a wee bit groggy from the anesthesia. Tend to drift off into little mini naps with little or no warning. Day time TV doesn�t help.

The Bob is back in the hospital. While we were orchestrating our neighbors hospital visit, we also got a call from the Club Med for the Septuagenarian Set. Seems Bob has been busy peeing in waste baskets, doing �the other� in the shower and just generally being a little crankpot. Turns out he has a bladder infection and that�s what causing his bad behavior. Now he�s being evaluated. Long term, we need to start considering placement at a facility more geared to deal with his particular issues. Short term, he may need to stay at a place like that as a bit of a halfway house until he can regain some level of self sufficiency again. The bladder infection really knocked him for a loop.

Of course, daily doses of seroquel and trazadone don�t help, then toss in monthly injections of haldol (haloperidol - rhino tranquilizer) and well, Bob isn�t there anymore. His body is there, but the man he used to be is long lost in a haze of anitpsychotics. We had hoped the doctors could find a combination of drugs that would leave him calm but alert. We can deal with forgetful, but the way he�s been lately? I doubt we can even bring him home for a day to visit.

The boys have instructions. If I ever get like that, they are to dress me in my camo�s, put me up in my tree stand, tie me in and leave me there. Preferably in February - Eskimo style.

Hmmm. Ought to think about cooking dinner. I�ve only had all afternoon to pick something. It�s going to be minestrone. Lots of chopping in the prep. I gotta go nap before I try to slice & dice the veggies. I�d really like to keep my fingers intact.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks