Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Bizarre Weather Day
2008-02-01, 3:47 p.m.

Day 1259

Bowling was weird last night. Very, very tight shot. Speed was as important as line. Some combinations of error weren�t too bad, others were disastrous. For the night, out of our 30 frames of bowling, I had 6 open frames � all of them splits. For those that are familiar with the pin numbering convention, I almost spared the 8 � 10 split twice. The first time, I nailed the 10 pin dead on and got it to bounce out of the pit. It went flying across the lane, just behind the 8 pin, eventually (like 0.1 seconds) settling in the left gutter up near the gate. The second time, I again nailed the 10 pin and got it to bounce out. This time it sailed out to the right of the 8 pin, barely missing it. No spares, but nice teases. For the record, that nasty 7-10 split? The one with the pins as far apart as they can get? Spared it. Once, out of at LEAST 100 tries. Did the bouncy pin trick. It�s pretty cool to watch.

Pin acrobatics aside, (I happen to be very good at getting pins to come flying back out of the pit. Velocity is my friend.) (I really should video a shot or two of mine and contrast it with my brother Ken�s shot. He throws more of a normal speed. You tube, here I come . . .) I felt pretty good about limiting my opens to splits. I just wish there weren�t so many of them. But � even with the 6 opens, I think I was the only guy on our team to beat their average last night. Consequently, we only took 2 of the 8 available points. The league standings from 2nd to 8th places just got a whole lot more condensed. 1st place? Those dudes are cruising. Doubt anyone will catch them. It�s still a family thang tho � my cousin Mikey bowls on that team. (In all, there are 5 guys with my surname bowling in that league. Next closest families have only 3)

Like I mentioned yesterday, cabinets are ordered. We have a whopping 4 weeks to wait (right, like I�ll be waiting . . .) for delivery. There is so much to do before then. Tomorrow we�ll go check out some counter top places. Cindy has an itching for granite. I�m hoping the prices will scare her away. Granite is hard to beat for looks & durability, but I can think of so many other places to use that money (roof, driveway, Alaskan cruise . . .)

Weather here has been varying degrees of crappy all day. Had to skip spin class this morning because it took me too long to scrape the dang ice off the van. Yes � I�m parking outside again because my half of the garage is kinda sorta full of dining room wall debris. So scraping, scraping, scraping. This morning was that lovely freezing rain. You know the stuff that comes down as a liquid, splats on something then immediately freezes to it. Nice stuff. Later in the day, the radar said freezing rain was coming down all around us, but the city of Rottenchester and most of our county was getting snow.

So said the radar:

Or the slightly zoomed in version:


A glance out the window proved otherwise. More freezing rain, sleet and other nasty forms of liquid or semi-liquid precipitation.

I�m gonna hate leaving work today. I can only imaging it�s going to entail another round of scraping every glass surface on the van. Then I have to drive over to the Bob�s and refill his weekly medicine bucket. If you�re looking at the zoomed in map, I work about midway between the �R� of Rochester and the �G� of Greece (yes, we have a town named Greece here.) The Bob live in a lovely place that�s a smidge under the �h� of Rochester. By expressway, it�s about 10 miles. In the sleet & shit. Then, I get to drive back across the city and finally settle in at home, which is someplace between the �B� of Brighton and the �r� of Gates Center. That�s another 10 or so mile drive. Still in the sleet & shit I imagine. Color me thrilled.

Personally, I don�t mind driving in the sloppy stuff like that. I only get perturbed by the folks that are overly cautious (20mph? Puhleeze!!) or downright foolish (60mph on ice!?! Puhleeze!!) Unfortunately, one or two of either (or both) can ruin a perfectly miserable ride for the rest of us. Meaning of course that instead of moving along at an infuriatingly moderate pace, we�re barely crawling along. Because some poor fool is scared shitless on a two lane road and no one can get around them, or we�re all gawking at the idjit that WAS doing 60 but found his way into a ditch � hopefully not taking anyone with him.

Trying to beg out of doing the medicine run tonight. Only need to resupply one new medicine. It�s just that the start up of this stuff involves ramping up the dose, and we don�t trust The Bob to get it right. He already took today�s dose (in theory), so getting it there tomorrow would still be ok. My begging out method consists of making tomorrow�s trip out to Bob�s on the way to a granite counter top place. Might work.

Busy weekend coming up too. Plan on hitting up at least the early spin class, got to make that run to Bob�s and check out some countertops. Hopefully we�ll get sticker shocked right out of the granite. I hope, I hope, I hope.

In actual work related stuff, my simulator is running much better today. It�s left precious little time for typing up this drivel. It�s also allowed me to finally, maybe fix a problem. If so, I will also finally get to move on to some new tasks. Can�t wait.

Hope the Super Bowl is at least entertaining and not a Super Bore. Still don�t know who I�m rooting for. No clear regional allegiances in this one.

Time to go start the weekend.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks