Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

The best Intentions
2008-09-04, 9:03 p.m.

Day 14something

Had an entry started at work.

In it, I bemoaned the situation here at la casa smokefree. Mentioned doing a family style intervention with rules. Then things got a little more positive as I thought about the bowling season starting tonight.

Then the fecal debris impacted the rotating blade. Got busy as hell at work. Problem to fix. Managers getting involved. Now we'll get nothing done while we sit in manager directed meetings discussing what we should be doing. Except we'll be in meeting talking about it, not at the bench doing it.

So I got distracted and left my thumb drive, with the nascent entry stored on it, in my office, safely plugged into my laptop.

But I did get to bowling.

It was a struggle. First game stunk. Thumb was sticking in the ball. That led to all sorts of other problems - mostly all in my head. Addressed the thumb issue, got my head straight and almost salvaged the evening.

Our team did well, but only because the other team struggled worse than we did. Ah well. Everybody is a little tentative the first few weeks anyhow. Sandbagging, trying to establish a low average to take advantage of handicapping. Suckers. We just prefer to bowl what we bowl. I'm sure we took 6 of 8 points. Those last two points I think we took, but it'll come down to handicap. We use last years handicap for the first 3 weeks, so early season sandbagging has no effect. But the system used to determine handicap changed, so last years posted handicaps are wrong. More work for the league secretary. Poor guy.

Oh - I wan the 50/50 raffle too. $40. Nice way to start the season.

Better get off to bed. Biking in tomorrow, then hoping to get home before the remnants of Gustave blow through here.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks