Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Day 8 - first week under the belt
2004-08-30, 8:46 p.m.

Day 8 8/30/04

Wow, the wife got out of the house early this morning. I had the coffee ready to go, so didn't hop out of bed when my alarm went off at 6:15. Figured the coffee would be ready by 6:25, so I'd laze around in bed a while. Woke up again when I heard a garage door closing at 6:40 (Our bedroom is next to and above the garage. More like you feel the door openers vibrate than actually hear them.)

Went & got the paper, locked the door behind me after I got back inside. Skipped breakfast, scanned the paper, headed for the shower. Not getting much of an urge to smoke so far today.

Work was not so bad in the morning. Got my support call from Denny for day 7. Plenty to keep me busy at work. Simulations to run, VHDL to write & fix, 1 project getting close to trade-trial testing, two others getting close to finishing prototypes. Should have replenished the grape supply for this week. Some of the VHDL simulations are taking an hour plus. That's too much idle time to fill. I can prep some entries off line I suppose, but I don't want to spend any significant time at work perusing through d-land.

Actually, I'd like to stop by Sam's club and get a bag of their trail mix to munch on. Problem is where to leave it. No matter where it is, I'm likely to inhale the whole bag in a single day. Hate to trade smoking for eating. Already need to drop a few pounds, don't need that to get worse too.

Noticing problems concentrating again. (like the first part of this entry wasn't a hint??) Maybe grapes would be a good idea. Not as many calories as the trail mix, a bit healthier, easier to limit intake due to storage needs. Hmmmmm. Be nice when I can get past these hour long simulation runs too.

Better go update my project directories for releaseable VHDL and prep them for the next experimental versions.

Will make it through today. Figure the longer I keep going, the more likely it will be that the wife will finally join me & quit. Have a $20 certificate to Media Play. Time to go get a reward tonight. Twenty bucks is only about 2/3 of what I'm actually saving by not smoking. The rest is for a longer term goal. If the wife joins me.

Well, it's later. Never got to Media Play. Maybe tomorrow night on the way home.

Finding that as long as I stay busy or entertained the urge to light up never gets that bad. Even with the spousal unit out on the Riviera toking away. Sometimes I think that makes it even easier, seeing length one will go to (being outside, smoking alone, thinking you have to sneak them in. Kinda laughable. Glad I'm not doing it.

Time for a little surfing, maybe mess around with my fantasy football team some, then pack it in for the night. Cooler and less humid tonight, might ally be able to get some decent sleep for a change.

8 days down, keep chugging


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks