Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Days 15 & 16 - Hot stuff & a quit partner?
2004-09-07, 9:44 a.m.

Days 15 & 16 9/7/04

Happy be-lated Labor Day. Did you labor? I didn't. Not really. Got the lawn mowed Saturday. Got a lot of shrub trimming done Sunday. Wiff & I did the grocery shopping yesterday. Pretty exciting weekend, no?

Made two more batches of salsa. In our original batch, made last weekend, we used only jalapenos for the hot peppers. Made a rather mild salsa. This weekend, in the first batch half the hot peppers were of the Portugal variety - a bit hotter than a jalapeno. Came out kinda nice, something you could serve to friends without worrying about burning their heads off. Next batch, instead of 6 - 8 jalapenos, I used 3 jalapenos and 5 habaneros. A taste test of this batch found it to be not so hot at first, but it did kinda sneak up on you after a bit. Could be an interesting batch. Still have more sweet peppers, tomatoes and habaneros coming along. Also have 3 pint jars left. Might try a small batch of habanero only salsa.

Had some mild, quickly passing craves for a butt these last two days. Nothing too serious, and easily quashed by reminding myself of the progress made thus far. Hate to blow away all of this ground gained beating the addiction by having even 1 cigarette.

Without resorting to a "Mom" style guilt trip, it looks like the wiff may finally be jumping on the quit wagon. I kinda thought if I let her be and didn't flaunt my progress she might come around. Yesterday, she mentioned that she was down to only one cigarette - and that might be it. I didn't jump all over it, but said that if she was ready, I'd be there to help. She even asked how it was going for me - first time she's asked in 2 weeks. I think she's a little surprised that I've gone this long. Typically, when we've tried to quit in the past it was all driven by her. I had no input on quit date, no real support mechanisms in place, just "Sunday is it. No more smoking after that." Well, this time was on my terms, with a real class, support mechanisms ready, and my own mind made up that it was time. I'm not surprised (well, maybe a little) by how well things are going.

Speaking of going, I'd better. There is work to be done now that Labor day is over. That new board from last week still isn't doing so well. It'll probably smoke before I do.

16 days down, 1 more member on the team


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks