Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Sporting events hurt
2004-09-20, 4:07 p.m.

Days "when ever" to 26

Man, when did I last bother to write up an entry?? Been a while I guess. That's a symptom of actually having had some fun over the course of the last few days. What kind of fun? The hurting kind. According to my own records, last time I wrote was last Wednesdat, day 24, 9/15/04. So, lets finish off day 24 and review all the fun that's been had since then

Day 24 - No fun at all. Smoking not a problem. Running errands at lunch time for Z's girlfriend J, digging up prices on film & paper she needs for a photog class. Required a lengthy hike to the building next door, which I conviently doubled up with some actual work related activity that also needed to be done right around lunch time. Could end up saving J 5 - 6 dollars on her film & paper needs.

Day 25 - Got confirmation from J on getting the supplies. Have to go to a different employee store. The one in the building next door (1/2 mile walk) isn't open Thursdays. Have to drive to the main one (besides, they actually have all the film I need in stock) that's ~2 miles east. At least it's driving, then only a 1/4 mile walk from the parking lot to the store itself.

Bowling in the evening. Going along fine. Somewhere in the middle of the second game, my hips start acting really cranky - like I've strained the hip flexor. Really hurts to get any lateral forces on it. Plus it's hard to flex in general, and hurts pretty bad when you bend over & try to throw a bowling ball. Had a nice series started, but the third game pretty much destroyed it. Ended up shooting 15 pins/game under my average AGAIN.

Wiff decided she'd rather come home & just drink, so no supper ready. She wants calzones. Calls at 8:00. The first new Survivor is on - one of the 2 "reality" shows I really like. Calzones are ready at 8:30. Shop closes at 9:00. Wiff waaaay to drunk to drive there & get them, we have no cash on hand for delivery. I get to go, and miss the entire second half of the show. Don't even know who got voted off. But I got calzones for dinner. At one point, the wiff & I were out in the garage doing something - don't remember what. We head in. I get inside first, hold the door open for her. I feel her grab the door, so I let go and head inside. Then I hear the storm door closing, and the wiff isn't inside yet. She apparently "lost her footing" on the teps and wiped out pretty bad. She's got a few bumps that are going to turn into some gorgeous bruises in a few days.

Day 26 - Department golf tournament today. I could barely haul my butt out of bed. Got a lousy nights sleep. Hips hurt just lying there, hurt worse trying to move & get comfortable. Was hoping that it'd loosen up through the day & be playable by afternoon. No such luck. Just standing there wasn't too bad. Moving my legs wasn't too bad. The twisting/sideways motions required by a golf swing? Agony. Had a vicodin in my desk, but didn't take it. Would have interfered with the beer drinking. I barely managed to make the minimum contributions that our scramble format requires. Drinking beer didn't help the pain or the golf, but it did make me care less. Dinner after golf was so-so event wise, disastrous food wise. We were warned that dinner would be promptly at 6:30 - no waiting for straglers. So - promptly at 7:00, tha wait staff started bringing out the salads. Pretty typical salads for an affair like this, if a little short on dressing. Door prizes are being given out, scoring methods explained. Finally, dinners start coming out. The choice for dinner is steak. Beef. Done however. Actually, by then people were so happy to see real food, even vegetarians would have eaten some cow. One problem. The steaks were tiny. Miniscule. Maybe 6 oz. on a good day. The potatoes - about golf ball sized new potatoes, oven roasted. 2 per plate. Vegetables - the typical over cooked mass gathering style veggie. About a dozen chunks of what used to be string beans (both green & wax) and maybe 3 baby carrots. Total - not quite a half cup of veggies.

So I inhaled a wee bit and cleaned off my plate. Gatherd up my door prize (a very nice black fleece pullover, embroidered with the division logo, and a little reminder of the event) and headed home. This night, the wiff decided that maybe she'd rather drink than fix/get/buy a dinner for herself, just to differentiate it from teh night before. If I thought she was a bit hammered Thursday night, Friday night she set a new low. Of course, it was my fault she didn't have dinner. Because I was at a work sponsored "happy face time" event that she knew about months in advance (years actually, we've been doing this for ~12 years now). Well, since dinner at the golf outing actually was a nice appetizer, I was really still hungry myself. I could still use a burger or something myself. So I ask the drunken one if she'd like some Arby's or Burger King, anything I could run out & get in a few minutes. She mumbles something about a cheeseburger & fries would be nice. I go get my keys, get some shoes and am ready to go when she mumbles something to the effect of me not having to go and get her a dinner. What ever. My shoes aren't tied yet, so I go out to the family room, have a seat and watch what ever is on the boob tube (think I changed it to TLC or Discover maybe). Drunk & dangerous trips back in, collapses on the couch. Asks me why I'm not going out to get dinner. This is a whopping 5 minutes after she told me there was no need to go. Ended up going anyhow, all the way to a McDonalds about 1/2 mile from our house. That place has been there for like 3 years now, and this is the first time I've been there. That about sums up my opinion of McDonalds.

So anyhow - I grab a couple of double cheesburgers and some fries - all off the $1 menu - sweetness, and head home. The wasted wiff barely notices that I'm home. I grab a plate, serve up her burger & fries and cart them out to the family room. The wiff wakes up after some gentle prodding (no, really), looks, asks "you went out and got food?, Why?". I ask her if she'd like some milk to drink. Get a "no" for a response. I head back out to the kitchen, grab my own burger and pour a glass of milk. Head out into the family room, settle in to watch a little L&O. The wasted wonder looks over at me, mumbles "where's my milk?" Yup. Gave her mine, took the cocktail next to her on the end table (half a 22 oz glass, whiskey/ginger ale mix, probably her 4th) and went & got my own milk.

She finally managed to clear her plate. I finally managed to get her to go up to bed. Now before anyone thinks I'm getting a little hypocritical, bitching & moaning about the wiffs drinking, and not 2 paragraphs above I mention beer not doing much for my hip pain - I had 4 12 oz beers during the course of a 5.5 hour golf outing. Got another beer before dinner. That makes 5 beers in about 7 hours. I'll admit to weighing in at ~250 lbs. Five beers in 7 hours won't get my BAC much above a 0.04. The wiff on the other hand consumed ~ 12 shots of whiskey in ~ 3 hours. And that's if she kept it down to only 4 drinks. Her "drink" is built in a 22 oz plastic mug, about 3/4 filled with ice cubes. Whiskey is poured in over the ice, somewheres around 3 - 4 ounces. Top with ginger ale - maybe another 8 - 10 oz. Drink till stupid, then have 2 more.

26 days down - it's hell getting old.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks