Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Happy Channukwanzaamas!!
2004-12-27, 10:06 a.m.

Day 127 Happy Channukwanzaamas!!

Still amazed at how things are going. Very few urges to light up and they are pretty easy to squash. Not so much action on dreaming about smoking lately.

Have noticed a tendency to go from zero to bitch in under a second though. This has already had some undesireable side effects that I've ended up apologizing for (mostly not monitoring what I say in some situations) I thought that at 4 months in the temper flares would have subsided. Could be it's related to some stresses in other areas and I need to find another method to modify my temper.

Halfway through FIL's visit. No one is dead yet, but If I get asked to bring a riding mower, 14cu. ft. freezer and various lawn maintainence items back north a seventh time, I'm going to find a good use for that freezer. Seriously. FIL has asked me numerous times about bringing a freezer back. In my van (a Dodge Grand Caravan), along with all that other crap I mentioned. I have told him politely 6 or 7 or 291 times that the freezer will not fit. We will be bringing the lawnmower back, but that's it. So he suggests I rent a trailer. Again. I repeat that it will cost more to rent the trailer than the freezer is worth. I also do not want to tow a trailer 1400 miles. I also already have a freezer that is larger and pretty much full, all the time. There is no need to downsize. I will probably repeat this discussion once a day till January 3. By then, I will have the answer tattooed to my FIL's hand and I can just refer him to his hand. Really - that's when he heads back south.

Can't complain much though. He did give us a rather nice check for xmas and told us to go out and get some replacement windows for our family room. That window is so drafty that the curtains move a bit, even with the window closed. And it was -3 outside the other night. I will really enjoy replacing those this spring. Right along with the re-roofing job. That will provide plenty of projects over the summer to keep me from thinking about smoking.

Other things I got for xmas: A new batch of arrows, some slippers (much needed) a shirt, a gift card to Gander Mountain, some Jim Beam sauces and a set of Tabasco chili bowls. The wiff got a smoothie cookbook, a gift card to her favorite clothing store, a new cast iron skillet (really, she asked), a spiffy new blouse and a new candle/lamp thingie (she's nuts for candles) The kids cleaned house of course. New car stereo, mini Ipod, Tool boxes, poker chip sets, wrench sets, DVD's CD's and gift cards to their favorite clothing stores. (Wish I got some of that stuff)

Time to wrap this one up. Just in case I don't get back here in time, here's one of this years New Years resolutions: Stay quit for the entire 2005 calendar year. Already have over 1/3 of a year completed, another whole year is a reasonable target. One day at a time.

127 days down. One resolution to go.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks