Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Relative Quickie
2005-05-27, 4:23 p.m.

Day 278 Quicker Than the Last One

Well, last night didn�t turn out as dire as I had predicted. Guess that�s good. Wonder if it�s all related to a clinical depression? Worth consideration. Next week is the 2 year anniversary of C�s mothers passing. That hit C pretty hard. Now, with her Dad here for the summer, knowing the mental condition he�s in and what his outlook is � Oy. Plus, this is an extremely busy time of year for her at work. Awards banquets, graduation preparation, all the stuff to do with the end of another school year.

Guess all that can wear on a person. I could try to talk with her about things, give her a bit of a sounding board, but she�s spurned my attempts at that in the past. Problem is, we (she) spend(s) hours going over every stinking detail multiple times. She likes to agonize over every detail, agonize over making a decision, finally make a decision, then second guess her own decision continually. I can�t get her to analyze a situation, decide on the best path and commit. Then, move on to the next thing, without going back and rehashing the whole thought process again & again & again.

It�s that going back and second guessing that really gets to me. I start to get frustrated, she gets frustrated at me getting flustered and the whole thing breaks down. All of a sudden it�s �you�re not interested� or �you don�t care�, ignoring the fact we went through x number of hours just to get to the point we were at. I�m tired of that dance.

Some days it�s hard to tell if her funk is fueled by alcohol or if her desire for alcohol is driven by the funk. Either way, it�s a lazy spiral to the bottom, where ever that is.

Have to look around for another Al Anon group to visit. The one I liked at 5:30 is kinda out of bounds at the moment. We�re dealing with trying to get 4 people to work in only 3 vehicles. Some how, I am the one that gets dropped off at work by son #2 (E) and picked up at the end of the day by son #1 (Z). That makes it rather difficult for me to trot out to that Al-Anon meeting. Even though Z knows I�ve gone to at least one. Maybe I can work out some sort of alternating week deal. Get C to go vehicle-less for a week too. Timing isn�t any different, and sharing is supposed to be good. If I can�t get the vehicle situation fixed, I�ll have to go to a later session on Monday or Tuesday I suppose. That may also force my hand in admitting where I�m going. That could be a fun one.

Yeah. We�ll see about that.

On another note, I�m bummed. No softball this year. Organization running our league, well our ex-league royally screwed us this year. For some reason, they decided to combine two leagues with a total of 16 teams into a single 16 team league. The fact that they notified our manager about this decision a week before their commit date and the fact that we�ve been in that particular league for 20 years (waaaaaayy longer than that organization had been running it) held no sway. We were not among the first 8 teams to commit, so we were shut out. They offered 2 other nights, but we played on Thursdays because we all had Thursdays free � not Monday or Tuesday. So this will be the first year I haven�t played softball in just about 30 years. Maybe I�ll get back to golf next year. That�d be fun.

Did manage to trap another woodchuck. That�s 3 this spring and 6 overall. I have no clue where they�re all coming from. I�m just trying to keep them out of my veggies. Z saw another one yesterday, we�ll be laying an ambush out for that one soon too.

That�s all for now. Thanks for the kind notes. They help, really. Time to go enjoy the weekend.

278 days down. Weekend coming up.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks