Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Day what?
2005-09-19, 4:29 p.m.

Day � I don�t even know anymore

Don�t have my calendar handy. Think the no smoking count is up to around 393 or so. Many updates to go through, since I neglected to save and/or upload the last missive I created.

Anyhow. Doctor updates. New cholesterol numbers are in. Total Chol = 134 (from 254 last October). HDL was up to 40 (was <27 10/04), LDL was low enough that my LDL/HDL ratio was excellent. (<3.8??) Doctor liked all the other numbers too. BP reading she did was all the way down to 115/70 � a new low by my records.

Upshot of all this is that I now get to stop taking my medications (Lipitor & HCTZ) when the current prescriptions run out. I�ll need monitoring to make sure things don�t sky rocket again, but the diet & exercise seem to be paying off.

Bowling update. Had another unconscious night. Low game was 207. Shot 655 for the 3 game series - only 3 pins off my all time high. Scary thing is in the last 6 series dating back to last season, I�ve now come within 5 pins of my best series twice � both times after finally slowing down both my delivery & shot. There�s more involved, but it�s of little interest unless you�re either on my team, or bowling against us. Suffice it to say that my average has jumped from 173 last season to 200+ this season. It�s early still, but this 200 average stuff might be sustainable. And I fart rose petals too.

Work Golf tournament � Rained out. Big time. Had 2.5� of rain in about 2 hours Friday morning. That kind of tropical rain is unheard of around here. We probably average only 3� of rain in a month. Needless to say, most local golf courses were temporarily inundated Friday. We�ve re-scheduled for 9/30. Whoop-tee-do.

Fishing weekend � Had a good time. Fish caught � 2 rock bass, 2 perch, 1 huge crappie, 1 pickerel, 0 walleye, 0 small mouth bass. Also got tangled up in the trolling motor and lost 2 lures. Still, had a great weekend. Helped Frank with some maintenance type stuff on his cottage, made progress in getting ready to close it down for the year and drank more beer than I should have. By the way � that�s a pitiful amount of fish I caught. Only good news is that I didn�t keep or kill any of them, even though the crappie and pickerel were big enough to keep by state standards. Even sadder news � Frank caught less.

Cindy survived the fishing weekend. Enough said. She�s going to play the martyr card, but I ain�t buying it.

Now I have yard work to catch up on. Lawn needs mowing, I should pull the dead weeds and try to re-seed grass, shrubs need a final trim before winter, cupola & shed need to be finished. Also need to get my bow sighted in again, practice archery and repair a tree stand. Of course, if I complain about all the shit I�ve got to do, I�ll get an earful from Cindy. Oh yeah � still have aerobics & bowling on Tues. & Thurs. Gonna be a fun week. Oh yeah � there�s my job too. Better get to it.

390 something days down. So is my cholesterol, blood pressure and prescription costs.



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks