Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Catching up AGAIN
2006-01-13, 5:15 p.m.

Day 509 Catching up AGAIN

Geeze, I really ought to try and get here more often. Been what, just over a week??

Got the FIL back to Florida. Barely. Dropped him off at our airport 5am-ish for a 6am flight back on the 3rd. He was due back in Ft. Myers around noon. 11am or so, we start getting phone calls from airport security here in Rochester. Seeks FIL left his cell phone and jacket at the security checkpoint. We were the only contact listed in his flight intinerary. Whoopee. Cindy got the goodies from the airport. Called her dad later that day. He had no clue he left them behind. Alzheimers is really starting to get a grip on his mind.

On the weight front, finally, finally seeing some progress again. Reset my new weight goal in Fit Day using a starting weight of 206.5 on 1/1/06. I guess due to the oddities of the human digestive system, I actually peaked at near 207.5 sometime around the 6th or 7th. This morning, at my �official� weigh in, I was actually down to a sleek 205.0.

Actually made it in to aerobics this past Tuesday too. What a mad house. There�s maybe a dozen of us that make it to better than 75% of the classes � everyone else seems to be transitional. At Tuesday�s class there were 32 people in the work out studio. There were absolutely no steps left and even less space left. I had relatively new people immediately to my left and right. I worry about these tiny little things. We do these �across the tops� things (like grape vines, but up & over the step across the long dimension). If one of the new folks gets out of synch, I stand a good chance of flattening them. Even at my new, sleek weight. We 12 regulars can't wait for the newbies to lose their resolve and stop showing up. A few new folks is fine, but tripling the class size? Crazy.

Thought I�d try to add another number to track on this here diary thing. Total miles accumulated on the infernal elliptical trainer. Since I track almost everything about my workouts & diet on spreadsheets anyhow, figured I could keep track of the total miles I cover while watching Sports Center on the ESPN 4 or 5 mornings a week. There�s a target to hit associated with this too. I did the math and found out that 1000 miles was 60 or so miles more than I am on pace for. Since 1000 is such a nice round number, and it�s a wee bit of a stretch � it gets to be the target. Now, what I really need to do is learn HTML so I can insert some fancy table with graphs and shit in here. Oh � and get a Gold subscription too. Like that�ll happen.

Anyhow, here we go. Stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 205.0 on 1/13/06
Target: 180 by 7/1/06

Miles at speed 1/13/06: 40.36 (in 9 sessions)
Miles with cooldown: 44.51
Target for 2006: 1000

Because torturing you with numbers isn�t enough, here�s some meme I ran across. The phrase in brackets was supplied. The schtuph not in brackets I kindly added. Might give you a glimmer of insight into my scattered brains. Good luck.

Alphabet Meme

[A is for age:]
47 and a twelfth.

[B is for booze of choice]
B is also for beer. But I�m getting to be kind of a beer snob. Therefore, B is NOT for Budweiser.

[C is for career]
Electronics Engineer

[D is for your dog's name:]
Don�t currently have a dog. Former dog�s name was Zeke. 14 years old when we had him put down. Great dog.

[E is for essential items you use everyday:]
Besides a computer? Terlet paper, water, clothing, $%@# elliptical trainer, my van

[F is for favorite song at the moment:]
Can�t say I have one at the moment. Something by Rush might be close to the top of the list for now. Maybe a Mambo Kings tune. Flatt & Scruggs? Who knows.

[G is for favorite games:]
Euchre, crossword puzzles, used to kill at Trivial Pursuit

[H is for hometown:]
Rochester, New York (Rottenchester, Rah cha cha, where ever)

[I is for instruments you play:]
Played the trombone back in the day. Now I play the oscilloscope.

[J is for jam or jelly you like]
Current, grape

[K is for kids:]
2 chilluns, but they�re hardly kids (21 & 20)

[L is for last kiss:]
Married too long. Forgot.

[M is for most admired trait:]
Either stick-to-it-ivness ot level headedness

[N is for name of your crush:]
I�ll crush your puny head.

[O is for overnight hospital stays:]
Once � for a spider bite that got a little out of control. Got me some cellulitis, then a big (3� in diameter big) hole carved in my right shin and later on, a skin graft. Whole process took better than 6 months. Ouch.

[P is for phobias:]
Not much. Really. Have a healthy respect for heights. No fear of spiders either.

[Q is for quote you like:]
�no matter where you go, there you are�

[R is for biggest regret:]
Doing this stupid alphabet meme.

[S is for sweets of your choice:]
Raisins, peanut M&M�s

[T is for time you wake up:]
5:30 am.

[U is for underwear:]
Colored briefs. Can�t hang (or maybe hang too much) with the boxers

[V is for vegetable you love:]
I love all veggies. Except maybe eggplant, but one might argue that it�s a fruit, like a tomato.

[W is for worst habit:]
killing too much time farting around on the internet

[X is for x-rays you've had:]
dental, right leg (see spider bite comment above), chest (for some physical), right middle finger (busted), left 4th meta carpal (bone in the hand � busted)

[Y is for yummy food you make:]
Gumbo, jambalaya, anything out of my smoker, chicken parmesan, heck � I can cook anything really well. Really.

[Z is for zodiac sign:]
Sagittarius


509 days down. Glad that freakin meme is over.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks