Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Scattered, but Relatively Brief
2006-04-06, 12:25 p.m.

Day 592 Subject? Nah.

Could do a stream of consciousness thing, but that would require actual consciousness. My ass is still dragging from this past weekend apparently. I may even go to bed early tonight (ie: after Survivor)

Zach�s girlfriend (Jill � ain�t that neat? Zach & Jill. Got out own nursery rhyme!) got two very good pieces of news Tuesday. Piece number the first is that after Zach & I did the brake replacement marathon on her car Sunday, it passed inspections with flying colors. One of the butt plugs at Firestone made some comment about her finding someone to do the labor for her. He now has a new orifice from which to void his intestines. Z man says she ripped him pretty good. Gotta like that in a girl. A little feistiness never hurt. Much. Good news item number two is that after 2 years she has been accepted into the dental hygienist program at the local Community College (ok � MCC) Somehow, I think that means that for the next two years, Cindy & I have acquired a daughter.

Those living arrangements have been touched upon before- - in the event that Jill ever got accepted or decided to transfer to MCC anyhow. There�s no point in her paying an exorbitant sum to rent an apartment locally and also go through money for food, laundry, etc. We decided that we�d come up with a nominal monthly rent and that would include food living space, meals, laundry, yada, yada, yada. Really, she�d be just kicking in for meals. It costs us nothing to let her use space we have available, and the impact on hot water & energy usage overall should be rather slim. Plus, I�m sure we�ll be seeing more of Zach too. This summer (or sooner) I�m sure we�ll go over the arrangements with Jill�s folks. We�ve met them on several occasions and get along great. I�m sure we�ll come to an arrangement that�s palatable for all.

I used to be quite the reader. (Nice segue, huh?) Mostly science fiction, but sometimes would pick up something by Ludlum, Grisham, Michener or even the odd non-fiction read. Lately however (like 5 or 6 years lately), I�ve been struggling to find stuff to read. Been too afraid that I�d stumble across stuff I either wouldn�t like, or might like but it would be the mind candy kind of fluff that entertains but doesn�t provoke any real thought.

Then I saw in someone�s journal what they do to create a reading list. They use the Man Booker prize winners and also include all the entries on the short list for the prize. The Man Booker is a British literary prize, but good writing is good writing I hope. So I trotted off to the Man Booker site (go Google it, I�m too lazy/inept to link it) and built me a reading list based on the descriptions of these books provided by Amazon. I�ve already located 6 or so of the more recent submissions at the local branch of our public library. There are several other literary prize foundations that I may also start using to further pad the reading list. If anybody is REALLY interested, drop me a note and I�ll provide a review of what I�ve read. Just be aware that so far, what I�ve read = 0, but I do have two books in my grubby paws, 1 of which I�m actually reading right now. Well, not NOW, but you know � in that last half hour or so before actually going to bed.

No update on the �What about Bob� front. That may or may not be good news. Probably find out this weekend.

Time to go off and read what all the other folks been up to lately.

Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 199.5 on 4/4/06 (Didn�t lose weight in Florida. Just drove so fast that it took a day or two to catch up.)
Target: 180 by 7/1/06 (looking harder & harder to hit)
Next weigh in: 4/8/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 4/5/06: 255.28
Miles with cooldown: 281.54
Target for 2006: 1000 miles

Might have to add a little something for the 5K training too.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks