Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Peaceful Progress
2006-05-11, 2:51 p.m.

Day 626 Progress

Had a lovely little chat last night. No ballistics, hysterics or gymnastics. Sat down and talked for nearly two hours straight with not even a raised voice. It was incredible. Like there were two adults in a room actually having an intelligent discussion (and I was involved � Amazing!)

Learned that Cindy sat two of her bosses down and related the whole deal to them. Held nothing back. They are 100% behind her and are supporting what ever time she needs for doctors appt�s or anything else she needs to get help. Couple of good guys there.

We got a lot of stuff covered. Cindy will be going to that initial psyche consult alone � on her own. At some point in time, she will probably ask me to go too. I readily agreed to attend whenever she wanted.

I didn�t come out of the evening unscathed. I have some behaviors to change. I�ve changed so many things over the last 2 years, modifying those little behaviors ought to be pretty easy. I will at least make a very real, concerted effort to change.

We initially didn�t see eye to eye on the drinking. Still don�t, but I�m willing to entertain her point of view. She did get a better sense of how I felt about it, and why I reacted the way I did when ever she did go overboard. I do see now that the drinking wasn�t the source, it was an attempt to hide or escape. Now that she won�t be drinking to escape, she�ll have to deal directly with her feelings. That�s the part she�s going to need help with. Until she learns to deal with these other issues in a healthy way, I will have to be on my bestest behavior and not aggravate any old wounds. Once she starts learning some coping strategies (just like quitting smoking), things will start getting marginally easier.

So things on that front are starting to evolve. Little baby steps are being taken. With a little patience and effort, we can make some progress.

Had another ass dragging cardio session this morning. Had a tough time maintaining any speed and keeping the old ticker from beating too fast. Thinking I�m still exhausted from Monday night/Tuesday morning. Hope it clears up by Saturday, cuz my draggin ass is still running in that 5K. I am desperately recruiting son #2 (still free of the delightful Serena�s charms) to chaperone me to & from the race, as I have no clue about the parking situation, and I don�t really want to be carting my keys around for the race.

Speaking of Serena�s charms, she is scheduled to launch an assault on poor unsuspecting son #1 this afternoon. Well, I did warn him, but can anyone truly be ready? I say nay, but I have yet to find out for my own bad self. We�re trying to correct that particular deficiency as well � maybe as soon as next week. I don�t think it�ll be based on how well son #1 fares. He�s young & inexperienced and may well be overwhelmed, but I will be interested in his take on things.

Big race on Saturday. The Run for the Young 5K � a benefit race for the local Catholic Diocese scholarship fund. Kinda funny, because I�m not even very religious, much less Catholic, but what the heck. It�s a race, there�s free t-shirts, the proceeds may provide some poor kid a better education than they may have had otherwise. My target time? After not even running a real 5K outdoors since I was a teenager? I�m aiming for 25:00. That�s right around 8 min/mile, which I THINK is sustainable. I�ll have to let y�all know how it goes. Got to pick up my pre-race packet tonight. WTF is in those things? A number thingy (placard?) I�m sure, maybe the t-shirt, but what else? Anyone have any clues?

Cheated and hopped on the scales again this morning. Sport can rest a little easier. That 191 from the day before musta been dehydration. I drank a LOT of water Wednesday and none of it leaked back out. I was back up to a whopping 192 this morning, still down 1.75 from last week. It�s either dehydration got me that low and water filled me back up or just the mention of butter pecan by a certain someone (sport) added a pound. We may have to come up with a scientific way to determine if the power of suggestion can physically add weight to a persons body. Then we�ll have to figure out what Sport�s magic word is. Just for balance, dontcha know.

We also have the lovely Alison on board with the weighdown, trying to trim a few pounds off her frame in time for swim suit season. We�ll have lots of fit, trim folks in the pool by the time swim suit season arrives. Especially way up north here where swimsuit season usually starts & ends in July. Updates Monday!!

If it ever gets warm enough, I might (might) go sunbathing out by the new fish pond. If it gets really warm, that fish pond might just become a hot tub � but we�ll have to strip off the sun screen (and JUST the sun screen) so as not to harm the little fishies.

Anybody know what it looks like when Shibunkins are spawning? Our 3 larger Shibunkins have been acting real strange lately and I almost wonder if they aren�t doing some sort of fish mating ritual. If I had to guess, I think I could pick the female out of the crowd too. I�d bet she�s the one the other two just can�t seem to leave alone, for even a minute. Ahh, to be young during spring again!


Updated stats:
Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 193.75 on 5/5/06 (stress burns calories, right?)
Target: 180 by 7/1/06 (Start of swim suit season??)
Next �official� weigh in: 5/12/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 5/8/06: 351.4
Miles with cooldown: 387.1
Target for 2006: 1000 miles

Big race this weekend � a whopping 5K, in the great outdoors


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks