Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

The Rest of the Story
2006-05-16, 3:30 p.m.

Day 632 V2.0 � The Rest of the Story

Back to zee whine, with less of zee cheese.

No talk with Cindy last night. Just no time with all the kids home. I have no idea how her appointment went yesterday, nor do I know if there are to be more. I hope she�s scheduled more. Son #1 and his girl are back in Syracuse today. Tonight, son #2�s girlfriend is coming over for dinner. All the way from Liverpool, some 90 miles away. That might make talking about the appointment difficult tonight too. ( I�d ask her to wave as she passes Serena�s , but she doesn�t know about that stuff yet.)

I�d like to sneak off to my normal Tuesday night aerobics class, but that might be a problem. I know I should stick to my own activities, especially as it relates to my own good health, etc., and I have missed this class two weeks running now, but with the kids girlfriend coming over and the recent hysterics, it might not be prudent to go tonight. Again. Damnit.

What�s worse yet is that I think a certain someone has established a new secret cache for hiding her medication of choice. I am positive that twice since last Monday she was under the influence, but tried (unsuccessfully) to hide it. The old place for keeping the liquor is, well, a collection of empty bottles. I personally emptied the last one down the drain. Now, although there are no bottles anywhere in the house that I can find, she still manages to find a way to sneak in her drinks. I think she may be reduced to hiding the stuff in her car. I�ve checked the house thoroughly, there really isn�t anyplace safe in the garage, and outdoors itself just isn�t reasonable. That leaves her car. Which also isn�t reasonable, but then again, neither is she. The other subtle change is the cups she�s using to drink out of. Used to always be these translucent plastic beer mugs, 22oz variety. Easy to tell if they held water, beer or some other amber colored liquid. Now � she�s only drinking water out of the big mugs, but is drinking something else out of travel coffee mugs, or any other opaque vessel. Real pisser is that last night, she snuck her �coffee mug� into the dishwasher before I could steal a sniff of it.

Maybe I just need to blow a fuse, nah, suppose I should find some way to tactfully communicate my disappointment and ask about how her initial psych appointment went and inquire about the chemical dependency counseling. That sounds to mamby-pamby, like by not calling her on her transgressions, I�m enabling her to keep doing it. On the other hand, if I go all tough love style and get in her face about it, she may turn to it out of fear or anger. Guess that�s why most sane folks let the professionals deal with this.

Last week she was practically screaming for help. Now, she�s returned to the kind of behavior that led to the cry for help to begin with. Clearly, we are both a little confused. Clearly, I am also obsessing about this crap. I need to stop. I need information. I need to ask Cindy WTF she�s doing. After aerobics. My apologies to Son #2 and his girlfriend. I�m sure I�ll see plenty more of both of them over the summer.


Updated stats:
Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 193.00 on 5/14/06
Target: 180 by 7/1/06 (Start of swim suit season??)
Next �official� weigh in: 5/20/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 5/16/06: 370.27
Miles with cooldown: 407.45
Target for 2006: 1000 miles


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks