Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Hmmphf
2006-05-25, 12:24 p.m.

Day 641 Hmmphf.

Hmmphf. That is the sound of not much to say. Might want to verify that with Sport. She�s a pretty good authority on those onomatopoeic sounds/words. (yes, I looked it up, first to make sure I had the right flippin word, then to see how to spell the sucker. It�s a tough one. Zip it.) (see, snuck one in on ya)

Not much to say also sounds like, �Hey, I mowed the lawn last night!!� Thrilling, ain�t it? The upsetting thing about that is that I�m forking over my hard earned cash to some company to keep my lawn green & weed free. I�d like to note that they have the green part mostly right. The weed free part needs a little work. Of course, I did handicap them a bit by trying it myself for 8 or 9 years. Took me that long to realize that A � I worry too much about hitting just the right application conditions, consequently the stuff that should go on in May is still in my shed in July and B � they gots better drugs for the lawn. All I need to do is teach them that the grass is the stuff with the long, skinny straight leaves, and anything with oval, round or NOT long, skinny straight leaves needs to be dead. Especially the wild violet and the Creeping Charlie. Oy.

Serena has her accounting of our fun little get together posted. I really only have one thing to comment on about her view. She mentions at one point that she thinks I shouldn�t lose any more weight. Well, see, I was getting all ready to pull up my shirt and flash her MY belly after she showed me hers (that�s as far as we were taking it, so relax peoples � and really, her belly is fiiiiiine, 4 children or not), but thought better of it. I mean, there were people on the other side of the bar that coulda been paying attention (yeah, I know, not likely) and they might have thought it a bit weird. Maybe on an August visit. I�ll wear a polo shirt instead � easier access ya know. Right in the midway at the state fair. No one will notice there!

But, back to my point, there IS still some excess there that can be trimmed off, and not just at the waist. I may never get down to �6 pack� abs, but I�d like to get rid of that last little bit of excess flab. I do have to admit, after having been at the �12 pack� abs variety, (more like a beer ball, really), it�s nice to be able to look down and see ones belt buckle without having to bend over a little. Besides, I�m still in 36 waist pants. Only a few more lbs and the 34�s will fit all nice�n comfy and I won�t have to suffer the baggy butt syndrome. Then I�ll be back to what I was wearing when I was all of 21. Too bad I tossed all my Army uniforms. They�d actually fit!

Al Anon tonight. Just emailed Cindy to tell her I�m going to a �meeting� after work. I�m sure she�ll be heartbroken that I�ll be missing dinner. Still need to contact our EAP group here at work. Alison has pointed out that they can offer more �professional� help than Al-Anon can provide. I just need to remember to call them when I�m not stuck here in Dilbertville (our maze of cubicles � seriously, a 16 office x 12 office grid, with no cheese!)

Heee � Cindy just emailed me back (oh � I trotted off and got a cup of coffee in there too. I don�t type THAT slowly) and wants to know �what kind of meeting�. Not sure if I should play it straight up or be coy for a while. So many thoughts flying through my head at the moment. Here�s a sample:

She�ll be really pissed if I fess up.

So? Maybe it�ll spur her into doing something about it.

Am I using Al-Anon as a tool to get her to change, or to help me?

Screw it, let it help me, if it makes her change, that�s positive collateral effects.

What kind of lame excuse can I use that won�t be suspicious? Hmmm. Not many.

She was really pissed when I called 911, but realized later that I had to. Is this a similar situation?

Pretty freakin close.

That was a one minute sample of my brain running open loop. We electrical geeks know how dangerous an open loop condition can be. Had to shut �er down before it got to a run away condition.

I�m leaning towards fessing up. Seems that erring on the side of honesty is never really erring anyhow. Think it�ll also make it easier to live with my decision later on down the road.

Just opened my lunch bucket. Sandwich (99% FF ham, lite bread, no fat mayo, mustard) 2 apples (Cortland & Crispin) and an orange (Nuthin spectacular to add about it). Think I�m hungrier than that. Cafeteria has chili today. Maybe a cup of chili & a 8 oz. skim milk? Oooh, and Jalapenos and more red pepper? Sport would probably rather I had 2 quarts of chili and a gallon of whole milk. But I�m not THAT hungry. I do have to make it through that meeting tonight though. Did work out this morning, prolly got 700 or so spare calories to burn up anyhow. Chili wins. Just hope the beans don�t kick in till after the meeting.

Gotta go eat. Go click that link to Serena. I promise, like she says, I sound nothing like Gilbert Gottfreid. More like the narrator of �The Grinch Who Stole Christmas�. I got that �you�re a mean one, Mr. Grinch� song DOWN.

Wow. That was a lot for nothing to say. Hmmphf.


Updated stats:
Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 191.00 on 5/20/06
Target: 180 by 7/1/06 (Start of swim suit season??)
Next �official� weigh in: 5/27/06 (190 or bust!!) {this week}

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 5/25/06: 396.46
Miles with cooldown: 436.08
Target for 2006: 1000 miles

The Weighdown Stats

Victim Net Loss Weeks to go Target
Brian 2.75 5 14 (oy � that�s a ways off)
Sport 5 8
Alison 6 8


ps - she called my bluff - and my cell phone. I bailed. Work meeting, crucial project. I think she still smells a rat - and it's wearing Arm & Hammer Soprt scent deodorant.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks