Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Second Choice Topic
2006-05-31, 11:13 p.m.

Day 647 Second Choice Topic

Busier than all get out today. Got a late start to the gym this morning. Bob was downstairs extra super early, threw my whole routine out of whack. I�m very used to having my mornings to myself. I like going through my routine in silence, helps me get ready for the day.

Can�t just be rude to Bob though. Cuz, really, that�d be rude. So I try and get everything done, chat with Bob, be civil, answer his questions. Before I know it, I�m fifteen minutes late.

Wanted to do a light workout this morning anyhow. Have a 3.5 mile road race June 1, 7pm. 9000+ participants. Supposed to be thunder showers Thursday evening. Oh boy.

Also had a 4 hour orientation for this corporate Wellness Challenge that I got hoodwinked into being our groups team leader for. Made the mistake of being the first one to ask about a team for our area. Main goal of the challenge is to get people moving and eating better. We�ll be tracking our daily steps with a pedometer, and also tracking our daily intake of fruits and vegetables � aiming to get 5 cups intake per day. The whole challenge lasts 8 weeks. Winning team(s) in 3 categories get AmEx gift cards for each team member.

The challenge was started at Wegmans to benefit their own employees. That first year, scrambling to get an event put together, they had 800 participants. This past year, their 4th, over 10,000 Wegmans employees took part. Other local institutions (RIT, Hillside Children�s Center, Xerox to name a few) heard about it and asked to give it a go. Wegmans has put together quite a program. They�ll come in, do the presentations, teach the coordinators, offer up their own website for resources and data storage, all for no charge. They are, of course, very willing to sell you the additional fruits and vegetables you�ll need to succeed in the challenge, but that doesn�t take away from the magnitude of public service they are performing.

Anyhow, our secretary hoodwinked me into being our teams coordinator. After Wednesday morning�s very good presentation by Wegmans one woman road show (she really was very good), I get to regurgitate it to my team mates tomorrow afternoon. Two of my team mates also happen to be project managers I used to work for in the past. I wish I had a little more time to prepare. I�ll be working off typed notes with a minimum of presentation materials. Of the 16 team members, I think I�m only vaguely familiar with 3 of them. The other 13 I�ve worked with pretty closely in the past. Worst part is I may have reserved a room that�s a little too small. Because of the short notice, I expected to have to do this in two smaller groups. As it turns out, I can get 13 of the 16 team members all at one time. 2 of the 3 that can�t make it I�ve already briefed. So aside from 13 people cramped in a conference room meant for 10, lack of prep time and a presenter that�s a little out of practice with his public speaking skills, things ought to go really smooth. At least I have toys to give away. Everybody leaves the meeting with their very own pedometer. Think that�ll be enough to buy the teams adoration for 8 weeks? I didn�t think so either.

I�ll have to remember to throw in an update or two on our teams progress. Oh. Team name. We all used to work for Kodak�s Health Imaging Division. We�ve since been renamed Kodak Health Group. We�re also for sale. I emailed the team, looking for suggestions for a team name. Some of the suggestions:

Future Former Kodakers
For Sale by Owner
Healthier Health Group
Health Slimaging

In a whopping 4 to 1 to 1 to 0 vote, Health Slimaging won. Can�t imagine why.

Miles update is late. Thanks to Alison for providing the table for our fun little weigh down challenge. Sport!!! Where�s your updates?!?!? Dawn�s Deltas as Helen Reddy would have it?!?!? (Alison & I checked our references. It is definitely Helen Reddy)

Updated stats:
Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 189.75 on 5/20/06
Target: 180 by 7/1/06 (Start of swim suit season??)
Next �official� weigh in: 6/3/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 5/26/06: 406.76
Miles with cooldown: 447.45
Target for 2006: 1000 miles


























Weighdown Stats
VICTIM NET LOSS TARGET WEEKS TO GO
Brian 4.0 14 4
Sport 0 8 4
alison 0 8 5




If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks