Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Honey, I'm gonna be late . . .
2006-06-07, 10:01 p.m.

Day 654 Honey, I�m going to be late tomorrow . . .

I will be late, but I didn�t use the word honey and I didn�t say why. I�ll tell her soon enough. First I need to learn to control a few things. Like rage, resentment and the need to lash out. Verbally, not physically. I burn up the physical energy at the gym or at other physically demanding outdoorsy pursuits. It�s just so hard to resist slinging the verbal jabs, every effin day.

Two weeks ago, I promised some folks I�d be back for another Al-Anon meeting. They�d asked me to come back the next week, but I weaseled out of it with that JPMorgan Chase Corporate challenge race. Couldn�t weasel out of this weeks meeting though. Been reading up in a couple of the books. I sorta live in the index. Find a subject that�s causing the angst of the day and read a few passages. One of the passages for tomorrow starts out with �I first came to Al-Anon because . . .� I might volunteer to read that one. Has the potential to be an ice breaker. Just hope there�s more than 6 people at this meeting.

Speaking of burning off some physical energy at the gym � hoo boy. Had some killer cardio runs the lat few days. Not fast really, but really high energy output. Maintaining a nice speed at really high resistance levels. Got to help the distance running. I hope. Been toying around with the idea of switching from cardio mode (target heart rate) to the hill plus mode. That would provide a lot of variety in the resistance levels, might help shock the old bod and get it to react harder and maybe make some changes. Just feel that the cardio portion of the workouts is getting stagnant and I�m not progressing.

Two and a half weeks till the next race. Already can�t wait. Ought to go look for another one 3 or so weeks after this next one. Maybe it�ll offer another t-shirt. Sure could use more work out shirts. Some of the older ones are developing their own personality.

The wellness challenge at work is moving along really well. Our team has swelled to 35 members. Started out with only 20 a week ago. The farther we get into it, the more interest it seems to generate. I�ve promoted a couple of people to co-leaders, just to help with managing a team this size. Got our dept. head to kick in weekly $10 gift cards for our teams top performers. Might help boost morale & motivation along the way.

Not much more to whine about. Work is work. No word on the sale of our division. We keep trudging along, trying to design out next generation product � like it�s going to still mean something after the sale. At least we all hope it does.

Time for bed. Got a hot date with an elliptical trainer in the morning. Need to burn off another 600 calories with some hot, stimulating activities. Great way to start the day.

Updated stats:
Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 189.75 on 6/05/06 Still stuuuuuuck.
Target: 180 by 7/1/06 (Start of swim suit season??)
Next �official� weigh in: 6/10/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 6/7/06: 425.70
Miles with cooldown: 468.78
Target for 2006: 1000 miles


























Weighdown Stats
VICTIM NET LOSS TARGET WEEKS TO GO
Brian 4.0 14 3
Sport 3 8 3
alison 2 8 4




If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks