Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Ouch in the Legs
2006-07-10, 9:33 a.m.

Day 687 Ouch

Last week, bike riding, I did a 14.5 mile trip in about 55 minutes. I remember complaining about how sore my hamstrings were after that trip. Just to prove how fast I learn things, I went out for another bike ride yesterday. 16.5 miles in 1:04. Really smart. Deal was that I�d make the dinner salad when I got back from my ride. Well, I did. But if I dropped something on the floor � say a lettuce leaf or hunk of carrot � there was no way I could bend over to pick it up. My hamstrings were so tight, it was a 30 second operation to get a hand down near the floor, and I had to have something handy to lean on all the way. Couldn�t let on how it was killing me though � might not get let out again for those hour long rides.

It�s much better today. So much better in fact, that I did my usual Monday morning 35 minutes on the elliptical, followed with the usual lower body weight work. Ugh. Guess bike riding uses different muscles than running. What ever. After yesterday & today, my legs are getting a few hours off.

I have to trot off for some minor oral surgery, and have taken the remainder of the day off from work. Matter of fact, I gotta scoot now in order to still be on time. If the pain drugs are working well, maybe I�ll pop in another post later today. I just had to get that last piece of maudlin crap off the top of the heap.


Updated stats:
Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 186.75 on 7/1/06 (f*&%in oreo�s)
Next weigh in: 7/15/06

New target � 8/22/06 to be at 180 (my 2 year quit anniversary)

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 7/5/06: 517.90
Miles with cooldown: 569.54
Target for 2006: 1000 miles































Weighdown Stats
VICTIM NET LOSS TARGET WEEKS TO GO % OF GOAL
Brian 7.0 14 0 50.0
Sport 5 8 0 62.5
alison 7.0 8 1 87.5




If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks