Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Stable Population
2006-07-26, 3:23 p.m.

Day 703 Stable Population

Well, the household population will remain relatively stable till the onset of fall semester. Looks like Bam�s roommate was talked down off his ledge and no moving out will be taking place. That�s good for my grocery bill, although somehow, Bam did have dinner with us last night. Such a softie, eh?.

The pond is having difficulties. Nothing life threatening for the fishies, but it does look kinda swampy. The water has been cloudy since the original pump died. Cloudy as in leetle teeny algae critters are growing and making the water look funky. Can�t see more than 15 inches deep. I�ve dumped 3 bottles of this algaefix stuff in, all to no avail. Starting to wonder if maybe we have a wee bit of a pH problem. Acid rain ya know. When we still had our pool, it was murder trying to keep the pH up into the acceptable range. This little puddle of a pond is much smaller (1200ish gallons) than our pool was, so it�s easy to see it could be over run by some low pH rain water � like the 6 inches we got in one day a couple of weeks ago.

So if I don�t come into work this weekend, I think I�ll trot a sample of water over to our new favorite pond nerd guy and see if he can do a little test, then recommend a treatment option that won�t hoover all the $$ out of my wallet. I mean, I have bought 3 lilies and a dozen fish from him so far this year, plus fish food, lily fertilizer, algae remover (that doesn�t work) and some other stuff, so a little water test & recommendations ought to be safe to ask for. I hope.

It�s just occurred to me that Eric & Kelly weaseled out of picking beans yesterday. We were going to have some nice, fresh green beans with dinner last night. Turns out that the chicken I was marinating in the new fridge in the garage got re-frozen. That top shelf chills like a mo-fo. Ended up bailing and doing the pizza & wing option. Kids were absolutely devastated I tell ya. Maybe tonight we�ll do the chicken and nice, fresh green bean thing. Can�t beat fresh beans, steamed until they�re just tender. Green or wax, I love �em both.

I have a very stimulating get together this afternoon with the FIL & BIL to go over his estate plans. I gotta be there to make sure the BIL doesn�t try to intimidate the FIL into doing something silly, like letting him (the BIL) have the power to grant gifts or some other nonsense that frivolously drains the mans accounts. I really need to be there a tad early, so I may have to slide out of the salt mine a little early too, like after only 9 hours today.

Also a threat of work this weekend. Got so much to do writing code for this new FPGA that I have no time to go play with lasers. Now both are needing attention, so it�s time to make more hours available at the salt mine.

Speaking of which, I�d better go. Mine salt that is.


Updated stats:
Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 185.75 on 7/22/06
Next weigh in: 7/29/06

New target � 8/22/06 to be at 180 (my 2 year quit anniversary)

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 7/26/06: 579.24
Miles with cooldown: 636.95
Target for 2006: 1000 miles
Plus 45+ miles biking so far.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks