Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Slow Sizzle
2006-08-01, 5:01 p.m.

Day 708 Slow Sizzle

Would someone remind Mother Nature just where the heck we are? I realize it�s Aug. 1 and all, but really, this heat shit has got to stop. This morning, walking into the Y at 6:30 (A freakin M!!), my glasses fogged up. No doubt this was due to me having to run the AC in the van because it was already hot. Going from the cool, dry van into the swampy outdoors, voila � insta-fog. Didn�t happen to catch the temp just then, but I did catch it while I was on my way to work. 8:15 (AM again!!!) � headed north on I390 in the bright sunshine, it was 88 degrees. At 8:15AM. Upstate NY. Immediately north of us is Canada, not the tropics. We�re not used to this stuff. Newspaper threatened us with possible triple digit temps later today. I may stay at work till 9 tonight. Yeah, no AC at home. Don�t usually need it. Needless to say, everybody is trying to sleep in front of fans. Supposed to cool down into the 80�s later this week. I just hope the evenings start dipping into the 60�s soon. Sleep is rough when you�re fighting drowning on your own pillow.

Lousy workout this morning. Think someone adjusted my former favorite machine. Didn�t feel the same. Just couldn�t get moving at any decent speed or resistance. Of course, it could also be related to the facts that it�s my 3rd straight day with a cardio workout, it�s been hat as hell here lately (see above whining) and I�ve been sleeping horribly (see above whine, again)

If I don�t stay at work till 9, I may go do aerobics tonight, cuz the Y has A/C (and showers), then take Wednesday off from workouts, just for a day of rest. Course, if I don�t do the Y tonight, I might go take a bike ride down the canal paths, check them out for potential rides in the future. Then it�d be necessary to have some quality time in a cold shower. For cooling down. Yes, just for cooling down.

Had to make a scheduled trip to the dentist during lunch today. Post surgery follow up. Last one. Walking out of our building, it felt like stepping into a blast furnace. Nearly melted before I got to my van. Thermometer in the van initially read 98, but once I got moving it cooled all the way down to 96. This was at 11:15am. Guess there�s still a chance we could hit 100 here today � for the first time in over 50 years according to the paper. Must be the �official� airport temp they�re talking about.

Caught a major break at work. Hardware will be 3 weeks late. That�s 3 extra weeks to tweak my code. Increases the odds it will run smoothly when it is finally tested. Also increases the expectations that it will run smoothly. Gulp.

Boys are finally (finally!) starting to plan their end of summer exodus to school. Looks like a trip west to Fredonia on the 19th, trip east to Syracuse the 26th. That will soon leave us with just Jill at home. She�ll be tied up with school, homework and work work, plus all the pining she�ll be doing for Zach. Poor girl. It�ll certainly be different with two women in the house. First time the estrogen units have ever outnumbered the testosterone units in any house I�ve lived in. I may just have to go hide in the basement. At least it�s cool down there.

Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 184.75 on 7/31/06 (musta been seriously dehydrated)
Next weigh in: 8/7/06

New target � 8/22/06 to be at 180 (gotta go some!)

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 8/1/06: 604.38
Miles with cool down: 664.69
Target for 2006: 1000 miles
Plus 60+ miles biking so far.



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks