Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Settled
2006-08-18, 1:04 p.m.

Day 726 Settled

That white hot, seething rage from yesterday? Burned out lump of coal today. Now I�m getting to be annoying, constantly checking to see if Cindy is really all right with changing back to the original ring.

Wondering if that little tantrum I threw Wednesday night was what changed her mind, or if it was my attitude in the store, (tight lipped, stiff, very closed body positions), or the fact that all 3 kids, the store clerk and I all told her the idea she was envisioning just didn�t look good, or if it was a combination of the three.

Either way, the wrap around, ring guard thing is gone, the original ring I got is coming back. I�m happy about that, but now I feel guilty about forcing Cindy to go against her own vision, no matter how fugly I thought it was going to be. I could balance that against Cindy�s tactless �Oh, it�s gorgeous, perfect, I love it. Now lets go trade it in on what I really want!� move and call it all even. Talk about hurting a guy. Geeze.

Breathe in, breathe out. Let it go.

Rinse, repeat.

Little better luck with the meditating thing while on the elliptical this morning. No doubt due to the lack of background noise between my ears. It�s occurred to me though that I�ll need to learn how to do this with my eyes open eventually. Might make running outdoors a little easier.

Went kind of easy this morning too. Still got in my 5 miles, but didn�t push the pace too hard, and didn�t let the resistance climb too high. Still wanted to get in a lower body weight session and save enough for the 5K Run for Lupus tomorrow.

Am desperately running through options in my head, trying to figure out a way to get to Sport�s Saturday and help her & the hubster finish putting up the fence for her mini�s. I�ll be just a short 3 hour drive (more or less) from her locale Saturday pm, but circumstances are conspiring against anything positive coming from all the brain cell frying.

Next weekend, it�s time to move Zach back to Syracuse for his last semester. Then, I�d love to figure out a way to meet up with Serena and tour the State Fair, but again, traveling companions may thwart the whole deal. This will be Z�s first time in these particular dorms (South Campus), so of course Cindy & Jill want to come along to help out and learn the lay of the land. Gonna have to work on secondary options for that one. Serena and I had a great time my last visit out there, but we were really kinda sedate. Next time, we�ve got to kick it up a little.

Of course, there�s always the following weekend, when Alison may make a visit to within an hour of my area. Another opportunity to meet a dear D-lander, and her beloved, of course. That trip also has some logistical issues (on both sides I�ll wager), but it�s still so tantalizingly close. There�s time to adapt still. One just never knows.

Well, I�ve got simulations to get started on, plus whole new chunks of code to crank out, Better get to it. My thanks to everyone who offered an opinion, advice, consolation or a kick in the pants the last couple of days. Y�all truly make tense situations more bearable.

Alison � That Buddha quote � worthy of further ruminations. I pretty well stomped all over it the last couple of days. Similar ideas came up at last nights meeting too. Hmmmm.


Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight: 185.5 on 8/14/06 Going to have to move that target again
Next weigh in: 8/21/06

New target � 8/22/06 to be at 180 (right)

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 8/18/06: 666.36 (went easy today due to Saturdays race)
Miles with cool down: 732.73
Target for 2006: 1000 miles
Plus 60+ miles biking so far.



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks