Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Gray Tuesday
2006-08-29, 3:14 p.m.

Day 737 Gray Tuesday

How is it that I can�t get up the gumption to use my own equipment at home, but I don�t mind trotting across town at 6am to use the same gear hundreds of people have had their hands on recently? Would someone please answer that?

Might have something to do with when I went to bed last night. Stayed up to make sure Jill knew we�d saved some dinner for her. Think this was her last night of working late. That�ll be a relief. Now we just have to get her to start parking in the driveway, instead of the church parking lot behind us. Still, I stayed up past 10pm to let her know the where abouts of dinner � makes it hard to get moving in the early morning. I SO need my beauty rest.

Looks like Jill�s thoughts of moving into an apartment stopped after checking out a place she heard was available on the other side of the city. Rent was ok, but the place was small. Also much farther from school, work and friends than we are. She�s decided to stick it out with us for this semester. Cindy has no idea she was even looking. I need to pull Jill off to the side and have a little heart to heart with her. I�m not upset with her for wanting to find an apartment, I just want her to know I�m willing to work with her some on making her stay with us manageable. Not that I can do anything to fix what�s likely to be bugging her. Case in point: I think Jill was actually embarrassed by some of Cindy�s sniping Sunday evening.

Zach finishes up school this December. I�m certain he�ll be hard into the job search, especially hitting up job fairs at school (took his suit even!) He�s determined to get a place of his own as soon after he�s done with school as possible. Jill will no doubt be moving with him. I�ll encourage them to take advantage of our free rent for a while, in order to build up a little cushion. But they�re both chomping at the bit to have their independence. Knew this was coming someday, but didn�t think it�d sneak up quite so quickly. Hope grand kids are still a ways off. I�d like to make it to 50 before that happens.

Awful gray out earlier, but it looks like the weather will improve by tonite. Maybe I can sneak in a little canalside bike ride tonight. Won�t make up for skipping weights this morning, but a one hour ride would still be nice. Maybe weights in the morning again. If I survive the scorn of Cindy for wanting to get in some exercise. Sheesh.

Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight: 185.0 on 8/21/06 #$*&^ scale pointer has helium in it!!
Next weigh in: 9/5/06 (first day the Y re-opens)

New target � Time to reevaluate.

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 8/25/06: 688.36
Miles with cool down: 756.97
Target for 2006: 1000 miles
Plus 68+ miles biking so far.



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks