Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

The Subconscious Takes Over
2006-09-18, 10:38 a.m.

Day 757 The Subconscious Takes Over

I�m going to throw this one up here quick, then get to work on something substantial to put in the place holder I snuck in back there.

Deeper, untapped parts of my brain started a little conspiracy last night. I had to run Bob back to his place at the Legacy after dinner last night. Took Cindy�s car because:

A � I had hardly any gas in the van,
B - there was plenty of gas in her car and
C � her car gets 50% better gas mileage anyhow, plus . . .
D � hers is a 5 speed and it�s fun to drive.

Made the decision last minute. Normally, I do not keep a key for her car on the same key ring I use day to day. (You see where this is headed, right?) I grabbed her spare key, fired up the Saturn, dropped my keys in the cup holder and off we went. Stopped at the store, picked up some staples for Bob, dropped him off, came home, plopped down and watched The Amazing Race.

This morning, I slept in, skipping the gym. Yesterdays bike ride was longer than I had anticipated, and I have an appointment at the gym tonight to get acquainted with all the nautilus gear. That made this morning a rest period. Ergo � Cindy left for work before I did. With my (only set of) van keys in her cup holder. I learned this when I went to put my stuff in the van this morning.

Now, Bob�s car is in the garage. I have two keys for it. But. My van is parked directly behind the bay that houses his car. Thought about slipping the van into neutral and letting it roll down the driveway. But. Need the keys to even move the shift lever. (&*@#$^% automatic transmissions!!)

At this point, I gave up. Too many buts. Called in to work. Not sick, not dead, just stupid. Heck, I have 5 weeks of vacation stored up, might as well use a day.

So, I�m going to hang around the house today and do some chores. Pay bills, dream up a fantastic dinner involving chicken breast and zucchini, maybe do a little actual work work (thumb drive ya know � got all my pertinent files handy) and maybe do a little garden clean up. Maybe.

I�ll also have my A0L IM thingy fired up. If you are as bored as I�ll be, look up bkr77b and say hi. I�ll answer if I�m not outside soaking up some sun.

Probably also work on an entry that�ll answer some of the questions Sport asked in her comments to this entry.

Oh yeah, got to work on those �before� and �after� photo�s too. Found some �before�s� that pretty much captured me at my peak Now I just have to get an acceptable self portrait for the �after� portion of the show.

Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight: 186.25 on 9/16/06
Next weigh in: 9/23/06

New target ?? Time to re-load.

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 9/18/06: 731.36
Miles with cool down: 804.66
Target for 2006: 1000 miles
Plus 161+ miles biking so far.



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks