Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Antsy Pays Off
2006-09-22, 11:04 a.m.

Day 761 Antsy Pays Off

25 months, no smokes!!

No workout this morning. With golf this afternoon, felt it best to show up early at work and try to get a little extra done. May come in this weekend while Cindy is off chaperoning soccer games. Unless I scoot over and say hi to Serena. Poor girl has been through one helluva summer and she needs a {{hug}} or three.

(Quick tangent � I�m a dumb ass. Just finished a compile, wanted to run a simulate, and hit the compile command again. There goes 3 minutes. Compile is purple, simulate is blue. Keep them straight please!!)

Anyhew. Kicked ass and took names at bowling last night. Hard, fast and continuously. Our guys (myself, bro Dave and buddy John) comfortably won the first game by 80, second by 130 and third by another 130. Not that we bowled fantastic, the other team just had a real, real hard night. I did manage to best my average by 100 pins on the night, Dave & John were right on theirs � so the other guys had to miss theirs by 240 some pins. Oh well. At least we�re making up for having to forfeit all the points form the first week (0-8, ugh!). We�re back to 0.500 and we�re coming on strong.

My own games were 241, 226, 214 for a 681 total. Highest series ever. Big strings of strikes in all the games. Really liking the new ball. Average is up to 211 and it doesn�t feel like a stretch. Lately, the confidence is high and I�m thinking every shot can be a good one. Also learning how much room for error I have (lots, really) and have learned how to take advantage of it. I was a little worried about bowling too high too soon in the season, but my brother reminded me � that new ball and the way it reacts � get used to it. Should be able to maintain a higher average now that I�m using equipment designed for current lane conditions.

�nuff bowling geekery for a while I suppose. How about a brief photo essay, compliments of fl1cker? Let me get the links set up, and I�ll provide a brief narrative for each set of shots.

(Tangent again, simulation finished - 11minutes, 52 seconds. �scuse me while I work for a few)

OK now. This is the hard one. Here is a set that shows 3 shots of me before I got serious about dieting and exercising. Weighing in at a svelte 265. There are two shots from last August when I was around 220, (the � way point), and two from just the other night, down to about 185.

This batch shows some miscellaneous yard shots, including an odd cross section of a tree branch, the back of my house & some of the gardens, and a shot of that damn shed that just won�t paint itself.

Here�s another one fresh from a friend: Team Duffer 2004 Our work golf team. We�ve been golfing together in this tournament for 7 or 8 years now. Important note: This picture was done in Sept. 2004, one month after I quit smoking. The ground is sloped in this shot, so it doesn�t do justice to the height of these guys. In reality, I�m the shortest one in the group at 6� even. Andy (far right) is around 6�2, Mike (far left, is also 6�2�-ish and John (also a bowling partner) in the white sweater, is around 6�4�.

That covers the most recent additions. Feel free to traipse around and check out what else is posted. Sorry, no pics of Cindy. She�d scalp me. Hell, she�d scalp me if she ever found out about this . . . so, shhhhh. Don�t tell, ok?

Have an ad running for my FIL�s car. 2003 T0y0ta C@mry S0l@ra. I prefer American cars, but this is one sweet little buggy. Excellent gas mileage, all the extras you�d want (except anti-lock brakes. I found out the hard way!), plenty of power. Super clean car and only 33,500 miles. On a 2003!! Have my cell phone number listed as the contact. The last three days I have received a phone call from an unknown number, between 9 and 10:30 am. I pick up, answer, but get no response. The call is cut off after 15 seconds, max. I never hear a freakin thing on the other end. I don�t know if it�s someone trying to reach me about the car ad, or just some spam crap trying to leave me a bogus message. Next time it happens, I�m leaving it. We�ll see what happens.

Work demands may alter any plans I had for the weekend. Sucks, but I got addicted to those bi-weekly paychecks- -gotta keep �em coming in for another 20 years or so unfortunately. So speaking of work, I think I gotta go do some.

Have a great weekend everybody.

Earning peace, one piece at a time.

Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight: 185.25 on 9/19/06 More progress.
Next weigh in: 9/23/06 (have to get back to the Saturday weigh ins)

New target � Aim is 180, by Halloween.

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 9/21/06: 742.86
Miles with cool down: 817.25
Target for 2006: 1000 miles
Plus 161 miles biking so far. (160.99 for you choosy mothers)



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks