Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

On Hold - Something to Share
2006-10-10, 10:44 a.m.

Day 779 On Hold � Something to Share

This pertains to me only a tiny little bit. It�s just something I read that I�d like to share.


I felt my life was on hold. I wanted change; I expected it; I even tried to make it happen. But it was not within my power to make any of the changes I wanted. I was frustrated. I�m an action-taker, so I feel better when I am busy and industrious. There is a time to act. But I�ve learned that there is also a time to not act � to stop and wait. As my mentor puts it, �Don�t just do something, sit there.�

How often I still find myself impatient with the pace of life. But today, when things don�t happen according to my schedule, I can accept that there may be a reason, and I can learn to adjust to what it is. I may be experiencing great change on the inside even though I see little evidence on the outside. I can keep in mind that waiting time doesn�t have to mean wasted time. Even times of stillness have lessons to teach me.

The invitation to live life fully is offered to me each day. I can accept the pace of change today, knowing it will bring both times of active involvement and periods of quiet waiting. I will let the surprise of the day open up before me.

�Courage to Change�, p281



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks