Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Maybe it Wasn�t the Machine?
2006-11-06, 3:02 p.m.

Day 806 Maybe it Wasn�t the Machine?

NaBloPoMo #6

How fitting. A week ago to the day, I hopped on elliptical #10 (later in the morning than I�d like, as usual) and proceeded to try to get in a cardio workout. Silly me thought perhaps some service tech had stopped in and messed with the calibration of my favorite machine. After only a few minutes, it felt like I was slogging through wet cement, not bounding effortlessly along with the previous days football highlights on display on the screen a mere 2 feet from my eyes. Eventually, I had to call it quits. Got in a measly 2.5 miles in all of 15 minutes. Legs felt like lead � so I went and did a very vigorous lower body weight session. Figured I�d teach my legs to play dead on me! Thought that maybe my favorite machine had turned on me too.

This morning, I dared to hop on old #10 again. What a relief. The machine seems fine � it was just my ass that was dead last week. Burned it up this morning. Almost matched Saturdays effort � and this after dragging tons (literally) of leaves around yesterday.

Still got a late start this morning and I�m blaming it on Zach & Jill. They were off to Jill�s hometown this weekend to see her parental units and deliver her old car to her little brother. Silly me was kind of waiting for them to get home last night and finally went to bed a little too late. Makes getting up in the morning entirely too difficult. Never did see the kids either, and Zach is headed back to Syracuse this morning.

Less then 5 weeks and he is done with school. One trip to Syracuse (with the full entourage) for the graduation and another (solo?) to haul him home the next week. Somewhere in there I will find a few hours to stop by and visit with Serena again. After all, it�s my turn to host a night on the town.

Gotta go work for a while. Probably finish this off for lunch. Or go get my van inspected. Which ever.

Now it�s later. No van inspection. Yet. Didn�t finish this for lunch either. Ended up reading the A&E site, checking out a show called Intervention that Sunpowered thought might be interesting. I got all wrapped up in Cindy & I both watching it, worrying about the whole stimulus/response, expected reaction deal. Completely forgot that I could watch it for/by myself. Thanks for pointing that out. The episode on next Sunday (10pm) looks to be particularly interesting � 40 yr old woman who appears to have a pretty sweet life, draining 5 bottles of Chardonnay a day to hide her pain. What pain, I don�t know, but Cindy has used a similar phrase in some of our discussions. Worth checking out. Now I know what my VCR will be doing 10pm this coming Sunday. Or should I just break down and get the DVR option from Dish? Hmmm.

Alma Maters girls soccer team has a state qualifier game tonight at 6pm. Boys play tomorrow at 7:30. Looks like I�ll be missing both. Cindy will likely go to the boys game tomorrow nite (she IS the school secretary after all), but I am unsure about tonight�s game. Thing is, at least I am kinda expected for dinner at my Mom�s tonight. Actually, Cindy & Jill are invited too, but with Jill�s studying and the soccer game, I may end up going stag. You see, today marks is 13 years to the day since my dad died. A bunch of us are headed to my Mom�s tonight, more to help her get through the day than to mark it as any special occasion. At least one of my other SIL�s won�t be there, so it�s not like it�s a command performance on anyone�s part. We�ll have dinner, shoot the breeze for a couple hours, more than likely reminisce a bit, dredging up our favorite �do you remember when Dad . . .� moments and eventually call it a night. Looking back on it all, it�s hard to believe it�s been all of 13 years. I do remember the first few months were especially tough, then things gradually got easier. But to think that now it�s been so long . . . Life just went and got in the way I s�pose.


Just had a scare here at the zoo. Someone thought we took out another laser (as in blew, toasted, fried, let the smoke out). Turns out it was just some bad code I dreamed up late Friday. Now I gotta go look and see just what I missed. Then go tease the lead engineer because he�s making me type this stuff up faster than I can think (scary on both parts if you ever saw me type - sloooowwwww) At least the laser failed because we never turned it on, not because we toasted it. Again.

Off to see what I missed last week.

Oh � updated the mileage finally, and sent a spreadsheet copy home so I can be updating from there too.

Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight: 186 on 11/4/06 (Ugly rut to be in)
Next weigh in: 11/11/06

New target � Aim is 180, by Christmas. Better get it in gear.


The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 10/24/06: 882.99 (on target so far)
Miles with cool down: 971.33
Target for 2006: 1000 miles




If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks