Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Desperation Sets In
2006-11-21, 4:45 p.m.

Day 821 Desperation Sets In

NaBloPoMo #19

Hump Day on a Tuesday!! Gotta love these short weeks.

Made the run to pick up my niece last night. Had a lovely little chat with her on the 30+ minute drive home. Happy to find that she�s still very much into working out & keeping fit. Easy to let it slip in college. She played basketball and ran X-country in high school so she was pretty well conditioned as a teen. Now she�s all of 20 and still getting in the good sweats � so cool. Maybe this summer we�ll buddy up for some runs � even get her in a local race or two. She might even beat me. She�s is known to not cut any slack on the basketball court, wouldn�t expect it from her in a race either. One Fourth of July a few years ago, she actually knocked over my youngest brother with a hip check, trying to box him out getting position for a rebound. There is no end to the shit he gets for that. Letting his delicate little niece beat him up like that. Truth be told � she�s about 5�9�, probably around 150lbs, in pretty good shape and not a girly girl on the court. Youngest brother is about the same size.

So � got home late, finished up yesterdays drivel & posted it, then finally crawled off to bed. Pushing 11pm by the time I was through. Very late for this old dog. Still managed to rise out of bed and get to the gym this morning. Actually made it there by 6:30. Got in just a lovely elliptical session than went and abused my legs some more with the Nautilus gear. Felt really good. Need to do that again tomorrow. Then I think maybe I�ll take Thanksgiving day off.

Trying to decide whether or not to take tomorrow off from work or not. Plenty of housework-ey things to do, imagine Cindy might like some help. Could just take the day off anyhow and if she complains, I�ll just spend it at the gym or maybe get my license and go hunting. For deer.

Just got this from one of my brothers. You really need to go check it out. A quick test to determine your �coolness�. You can find it here. Let me know how cool you are, ok?

Because I�m desperate for material due to this whole NaBloPoMo thing, here�s this weeks free association list from Unconscious Mutterings

I say ... and you think ... ?

Teacher :: rules
Fifty :: too close
Crossword :: puzzle
Stuffed :: turkey
Family :: gathering
Purr :: kitty
Toad :: boss
Cocktail :: hour
Insecurity :: worry
Magical :: inspired

Shall we read into a few of these?

Fifty :: too close. No kidding. What do I admit to in my profile, 39 or something? Nah, how about 40something, due to increment soon. Be adding some �years of experience� to that 39 for sure.

Stuffed :: turkey My, how appropriate. Diet be damned, we�re gorging on turkey this week.

Toad :: boss Can�t explain this one. He neither looks or acts like a toad, but it�s the first thing that entered my mind. Don�t have a very high opinion of him subconsciously, do I?

Cocktail :: Hour Would that someone I know could limit it to that.

Insecurity :: worry Cheated on this one. For some reason, my head kept shouting confidence for this one, but it was more like �lack of . . .� finally switched it over to plain old worry.

Well, heard back from the Secretary of War. Said she�ll be fine doing the housework tomorrow. Know why? She just got a huge bottle (1.75l) of her favorite medicine. Probably plans on self medicating all day, while she slaves away �cleaning the house�, building her case for martyrdom. WTF ever.

Work, here I come. Not so interested in hunting really. I can still hit the gym too. Plus, we�ll probably all get out of work by 2pm tomorrow, why waste a perfectly good (and valuable) vacation day for a few hours benefit?

Meeting tonight. Think I have some stuff to share � especially from a post earlier in the week. The one about learning a few things, being manipulated and finally sharing some of Cindy�s health issues with our doctor. Could be a good meeting.


Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight: 188 on 11/4/06 (Out of the rut, but in the wrong direction)
Next weigh in: 1/18/06 (if I dare)

New target � Aim is 180, by Christmas. Better get the rear in gear.


The Keep on Truckin goal: (miles piled up on elliptical trainers and/or running)
Miles at speed 11/16/06: 933.29
Miles with cool down: 1026.73
Target for 2006: 1000 miles at speed (cool down miles don�t really count)


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks