Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

No Bowling Again!!
2007-04-05, 3:14 p.m.

Day 956

For as much as it was a struggle bowling this season, I sorta miss it already. By my count, there are about 20 weeks until next season starts. That seems almost tolerable.

Meeting with my sponsor before tonight�s meeting to discuss a few things. Probably have some reading/writing assignments coming out of this. If not, I�ll complain about it here, make up my own assignments and/or take on assignments from you all. Hmmm � better finish start a list of things I want to cover. I know some of the topics range from:
1 - dealing with an active drinker (I�ve proven again and again I suck at that)
2 - dealing with resentment associated with my attending
3 � getting started studying the steps

There�s also going to be struggles over the whole God issue, but I think I will make do with calling the collective conscious of the Al Anon groups I associate with my �higher power� That makes one fellow Al Anon-er�s assertion that God is female that much more appropriate, as right now I can count 4 males out of 24+ regular attendees (myself included). So if they want to assert that my higher power is female � well, it looks like at least 5/6 of it is. I wonder � if God is female, does she get PMS? Or is that what thunder storms are?

That was deep, wasn�t it?

Here�s a sample of what the deer do to our Arborvitae (White Cedar) This is a Globe Arborvitae, about 2.5 feet tall, 2.5 feet in diameter, positioned right off our patio � not 15 feet from the house.

That�s the side that got blown down and covered by snow. The other side however:

was not covered by snow and was left exposed to the deer that wander through our back yard. Lovely, isn�t it?

When I bought that particular plant, 8 or 10 years ago, it probably cost $15 and might have been all of 8 or 9 inches in diameter. I shudder to think what a mature replacement will cost. It will not be an Arborvitae though. Something in a spruce or juniper will be just fine. I can�t see me ever getting the deer to stop eating my bushes, so I may as well plant something they find a little less delicious. Although, truth be told, they�re scraping the bottom of the barrel when they start munching Arborvitae. Not a lot of nutrition there, but they only eat it when everything else is under a blanket of snow.

Lets see � Pedaling with Patty the speed demon yesterday, ran 3.5 miles this morning, tomorrow is an off day from work, but I think I�ll go see Gary the sadistic bastard for Friday�s normal cycling torture, then sneak in a full round of Nautilus. What better way to wake up on a day off?? Well, yes, I can in fact think of a better way, but, but . . . it comes down to a matter of reliability (it ain�t a sure thing) and duration of intensity (it ain�t an hour at full speed) Now if the subject were to come up later in the morning, after the gym? Well, a little extra cardio never really hurt anyone. But the way things have been lately, I�d have better luck surfing Craigslist looking for that �lap dance�

Found a site that collects pictures of scars and the stories behind them. When I have my own submission finished, I�ll post a link to the site & article. The premise of the site is that every scar has a story. In my case, that is certainly true. Only catch is that it never links names with pictures & stories. Keeps things rather anonymous. I�ll leave you hints as to which is mine. It�s only a leg, what the heck.

Taking vacation next week. Supposedly to swap the family and living rooms. It�s a size thing. It makes sense, but it�s the getting there that will be painful. The vacation and subsequent relocation of everything (including the computer) on the first floor of the house may make me scarce for a wee bit. �Tis only temporary. I�ll drag my carcass back soon enough.

If I don�t get back before hand, hope everyone has a Happy Easter.

Oh!!! special congratulations to Alison who will celebrate her Very, Very Good Friday by getting hitched!! She promised a picture too. Certainly by Monday, right Alison? Best wishes to you & your beloved. It�ll be a great weekend!!



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks