Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

May as Well Shoot Me Now, For I am Already Dead
2007-05-09, 5:13 p.m.

Day 990

More from earlier today & yesterday back a page. This is new stuff.

I caved. Bought a bike. New. At least it was on closeout. 25% off list. (Can I spot a bargain or what!)

I got this:

Same color scheme even

It�s a Raleigh Route 1 touring bike. Waaaaaayyyy better than the old Duffy (Huffy) I was riding. When talking to the sales guy, I told him I was looking to upgrade from the Huffy as a means to defend my choice for his low dough model. Seriously, from a Huffy, ANYTHING is an upgrade.

Now I gotta scramble to justify it with the home front.

�It�s my reward for putting up with your drunk ass� probably won�t cut it. Especially considering how smoothly things have been going as of late (like the last 5 hours!!).

Suppose I should whip out that deal on the company stock thing being cashed in. I just looked, and as of yesterday, it�s valued at $200 more than I spent on the bike (including taxes). Guess who�s getting a $200 Mothers day gift? Lordy, I hope it works.

Did the Pedaling with Patty class this morning. I don�t know how that woman does it. She�s a teeny thing, but must jackhammers for legs. I can�t believe how fast she can pedal, or how long she can sustain that kind of speed. For the record, I believe she admitted to being 42 once. She barely looks 32. Must be all that biking. Hope it makes me look 42 when (if) I hit 52.

Must have slept goofy a couple of nights ago. Got this funky kink in my neck when turn my head I far to either side. Was bad yesterday, a little better today. Was hoping that a little light upper body work would help loosen it up. It did, sort of, but it still hurts to look too far left or right. None of the weight lifting seemed to come close enough to what ever was tight. At least I got in the full workout.

Oohh � an extra justification for the bike. I could ride it to work maybe. Save loads of gas. Frees up a vehicle for Eric to use to get to work too. Got to figure out how to handle clothes (more jeans & polo shirts, fewer Dockers & oxfords) and get comfy showering at work in the morning. Hmmmm. Pedal to the Y. Do a spin class. Do weights. Pedal to work, shower, then work. Helluva morning. Plus, the Y is NOT on the way to work. No biggie in a car, but on a bike? I better check the mileage. Might just pedal to the Y, do weights, then head to work � skip the spin class. Seems more sane. Also have to plot out routes that don�t use expressways. That�ll be weird.

Better get to the butcher. I still have dinner to do. And some really fast dancing. If you never hear from me again, you�ll know why.

Have fun or behave. Pick one.



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks