Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Arrrggh � Not Pirate Style
2007-03-21, 5:07 p.m.

Day 941

I was supremely pissed last night and I didn�t much care who knew about it. Ultimately it was my own fault, but so many little things piled up and conspired against me, I kinda lost it.

-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-|-

I had a disjointed, non-chronological relate of the entire evening, but it�s best summed up like this: I got really pissed and it was my fault. Granted, the kids were lazy bums all day and could have done more. Granted Cindy was at the Y, but I knew about that ahead of time. Granted, I chose a pretty involved dish to make for dinner, but I could have started earlier, planned it better, or actually recruited some help instead of having a little tantrum.

Worst part of the whole thing was I didn�t get to my meeting last night. My tantrum was on the path to finally accepting that I was going to miss it, in spite of trying to work like a mad dog and get everything done. Still need a meeting though. I�d go Thursday, but it�s the last week of bowling, we have our banquet, and bowling is my reward for quitting smoking. Doubling up on meetings will have to wait till next week.

Can someone tell me what�s up with Perdue Chickens? We had 6 people eating dinner last night (well, 5 people and one troll � me) so I got 6 chicken breasts out to thaw yesterday morning � because I figured that�s what you need � 1 per person. Well. Perdue has done something terrible to their chickens. I have a 14 inch skillet. I could only fit 3 chicken breastages in it at a time. Had to cook in shifts. Didn�t want to use 2 pans cuz I needed all the little brown bits to do a pan sauce and I didn�t want to have two of them going. Plus my other big skillet is cast iron and there�s lemon juice & wine in the sauce. Acid + cast iron = bad.

Anyhow � we had to tag team those chicken breastages. 6 of us only managed to eat 4 of them, and we were all stuffed. We normally get our chicken at our local grocer (Wegmans) or a local butcher if he�s got a nice sale going, but these we got at S@m�s club last week. They were just ridiculously huge. Even the boys were all �Dad, these aren�t D0lly P@rtons, they�re, they�re . . . � my boys were having trouble thinking of someone with bigger boobs than D0lly, so their comment actually ended in an ellipsis. I could hear it, I swear. Our running joke is that chicken breasts are either Dolly�s or K@te�s (Moss), depending on size. It�s great having boys I tell you.

In the what color is your pee department (from last week), we have a new entry. Boxx tells us that red G@torade will make your pee red too. You KNOW I�m going to try it. I�m thinking Saturday maybe. Cycling class. That�s always good for a lot of liquid consumption. Best part is I can drink all the liquid at the gym and still have a chance of catching the evidence at home later that morning. Ought to do pictures too (but not of the actual evidence producing process. Well, maybe. Ought to be able to keep it PG, you think?) It would be really funny if we still had snow by Saturday. Then I could write a message (G@torade Rocks!) in the snow in red pee. Unfortunately the weather services are calling for warmer weather by the weekend, so no snow notes. But maybe a bowl full of red instead. Boxx � thanks for the photojournal project idea. You�ll be so proud!!

Oh yeah � Happy Vernal Equinox to everybody. Had a great opportunity for a �spring� picture yesterday. We still have a fair amount of snow cover up here (thanks to that nor�easter last weekend � put us over 100� of snow again this winter, mostly since February) and our harbinger of spring, the robins, have also arrived. Well yesterday, on the way home, I passed a group of maybe 8 robins, all gathered in this patch of grass no more than 10 feet in diameter, completely surrounded by snow. Any poor unsuspecting worm that bothered to tunnel through the frozen ground and make an appearance in that patch of grass didn�t stand a chance.

Great workout this morning. Actually made it in time for Pedalling with Patty. Rousing weights session after. Legs are complaining just a bit. Nice to know they're there. Tomorrow is another 40 - 45 minute run, nice & slow (8 min miles)

Short entry today. Feeling rather contrite after last night. Easy dinner tonight. Meatloaf, scalloped corn, baked taters, salad. Lots of salad.

Time to go stock up on supplies for Saturday morning. Science experiments are so much fun!!



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks