Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

TMI Tuesday Test Run
2008-02-05, 3:10 p.m.

Day 1263 TMI Tuesday Test Run

Been seeing this around in various places, thought I�d give it a whirl. Plus, I got nuthin else. No ceiling in my kitchen, no time to expound on that, no interesting little tidbits to share.


1. By what nickname(s) were you known as a child?

Due to my surname, there were a few names that came in and out of fashion in my youth. One spawned by a �B� movie classic was Rodan and there was �rode a horse�. Lately B Ro has been popular. But the one name that has hung in through thick & thin is the simple �Bry�.

2. Do you have a favorite poem and, if so, what is it? Recite it (or a snippet) here, please.

Hmmm, I think it�s titled �Jabberwocky� and the first line goes:
�The slivey toves did gyre and gimbal . . .�

I like it because it uses so many nonsense words, but you still know what�s going on. You know which are verbs, which are nouns, which are adjectives. After that, it�s all up to your imagination.

3. What is your greatest regret in life, something that you failed to do that you wish you did?

Most recently, I handled Cindy�s drinking poorly. Letting the affair happen was the nadir of our entire year, decade, marriage. It�s turning out for the better now, but it was a pretty shitty thing to do.

4. You are tired and hungry, but it's too late to cook. If any snack food were available to you, what would you choose and why?

Peanut butter (crunchy) and honey sammich on either rye bread or maybe a multigrain sourdough with a glass of ice cold skim milk. Why? I loves me some peanut butter and nothing is more natural than some fine bee spit. And a nice glass of milk is the perfect thing to wash it all down.


5. What is the oldest item of clothing (not jewelry!) that you wear regularly and what do you love about it?

I have on old pair of SU (That�d be Syracuse University) sweatpants that I got back in January of 2000 to wear after I had the skin graft done on my leg. They were very comfy then. Surprisingly enough, even after dropping those 60 some pounds, they still fit pretty decent. Thank heavens for draw string waists, eh? They have turned into my defacto PJ bottoms and I can be found lounging in them most weekend mornings. They�re developing a wee bit of a vent in the crotch area though. Not big enough for any accidental exposures, but it�s inevitable that sooner or later, they�ll give out.

Bonus (as in optional):Name a movie or TV show that changed your thinking or behavior.

I�m going to stick with the response given by Biscuit over at One Biscuit Hound

The show would be �The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio�. It�s a movie based on the real life events of a mother of 10 and housewife to an alcoholic husband from Defiance, Ohio. During the 50�s and 60�s she used her wit to win contest after contest and in so doing contributed greatly to keeping her family together and solvent.

It�s not so much that she managed to win the contests (and money & prizes) that was so amazing. It was the never ending grace and serenity with which she handled a truly horrible situation.

It�s been on the movie channels (St@rz & enc0re) for at least a year. It may even show up on Lifetime one of these days. It�s perfect for the �All men are bad� channel.


Looked at countertops over the weekend. Granite. The two we�re most interested in are Lapidus and Golden Eye. These samples are not from the place we visited, but the stone color & graining are correct.

The idea is that both would be used. The Lapidus on the working countertops (4 separate slabs from 4 to 10 feet in length) and the Golden Eye on the east wall in (on?) a hutch type arrangement.

Still waiting to hear on the initial cost estimate. The only good news is that we�ve downgraded our flooring expectations. Instead of some fancy schmancy stone tile, we�re looking at composites (or Perg0 if you prefer) $2 a foot is a whole lot more palatable than $8 and up a foot. I think the potential countertop cost helped steer that decision.

Did manage to get up some temporary lighting last night too. Since I kinda yoinked the ceiling out and the existing lighting went with it, we were reduced to 3 under cabinet lights. During the day that�s fine, but cooking dinner last night was entertaining. We�re lucky neither of us got stabbed. Accidentally.

Hmmmm. Rowena (from the granite place) is bumming me out. She should be calling. I have shit to do and I�m chilling here waiting for her to call. I can only play with my version control and rebuild this last project so many times. I need to head to the labs and test fry some lasers. I�m afraid the lab wall linings will attenuate the cell signals enough that I�ll miss her call. All our labs have steel clad drywall and aluminum studs. Some labs have lead lined walls too. All the better to keep the isotopes & laser beams where they belong. Depending on your carrier, you may or may not get decent reception in our labs. I know I�m ok on the north end of our building, but I need to head to the eastern frontiers this afternoon. I just don�t know . . .

Well. Guess I had more to say than I thought. Better go wait pensively. And go fry some lasers too.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks