Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Rest Day
2008-02-12, 12:04 p.m.

Day1270

Felt good to do nothing physical last night. At least the bill paying is out of the way for another 2 weeks. Such a pain in the neck. I did feel a leeeetle bit guilty about not actually doing anything project related, but I got over it as soon as the recliner settled back.

Rox � pity about your deadman incident. It apparently didn�t knock any sense into him though, did it?

Alison � I�ve been trying to figure out a delicate way to handle this. I can think of sooooo many inappropriate ways to say this. Anyhow. You got four chicken breasts in a 5 lb package? Those are truly mutants. If you�re handy with a filet knife you may be able to slice those in half � like cutting a bun open. Might be easier if they�re semi frozen. Even cut in half they�d still be huge.

As evidence that maybe someone/something in a UFO somewhere read my complaint, Cindy got another one of those �club packs� of boneless breasts the other day. As I was splitting it up into meal sized portions to put in the freezer, I counted pieces. We actually got 11 separate breasticles in that package. Made up some Chicken Parmesan last night and could comfortably finish a piece. Weird.

Joe � Biking season is a huge motivator for getting this kitchen done. By the end of March it starts to get warm enough to entertain thoughts of afternoon rides. There�s the Diabetes Association 100 miler coming up in early June and I need to do 500 or so miles (at least!) to get in shape for that. Plus I�d like to do a mouth to source ride of the Genesee River too. That�ll be a weekender. It�s about 120 miles one way, thousands of feet of elevation change, and no freakin� motel available anywhere near the town of Genesee Pa. that I can find. Ought to be a fun trip.

Maria in Mpls � those thoughts on what men consider romantic? Sometimes yes, sometimes no. For me at least. Although as I (get older, mature, age � one of them) I�m finding romance to be more of a mental thing than a physical thing. That a sign of growing up? Maybe. Too bad it�s taking so damn long.

Sneaking out of the salt mine for a half day. Looks to be just in time for a �Winter Weather Watch�. I�ll be sure to watch it, cuz I�ll be driving in it. Guess we�re expected to get up to 9 inches by tomorrow evening. That might slow things down a tad, but I doubt it�ll cause any lasting agony.

Got a little present from the UPS man yesterday too. I needed some stabilizer bar links for my van. Tried to buy them locally last Wednesday but couldn�t. Pity too, because it was up in the 30�s Saturday and that would have been a nice day to install them. But yesterday, when it was all of a whopping 3 degrees at dawn, my links arrive. Did I install them last night? No � it was maybe 10 degrees out. Will I install them tonight? No � I have other things on my list of shit to get to, like electrical things & ceilings to remove. Tomorrow night? Nope. Ceiling has to go back up. Thursday? What are you nuts? That�s bowling and Lost night. Oh � and Hallmark�s Valentines Day. Whoopee. Friday night? Possibly, but if it�s under 20, I don�t see it happening. Sometime this weekend? Lordy, I hope so. Getting tired of the sway in high speed turns. It kinda swings back and forth between understeer & oversteer when you�re doing bends in the road at anything much over 40. It can be a little disconcerting to hit an expressway ramp at a speed you knew was safe, but then you feel just a wee bit squishy as you get into the turn. It�s making me drive slower, and I just don�t care for that.

Time to run . . .



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks