Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Receding Mad Line
2008-04-24, 3:13 p.m.

Day 1341

Looks like the initial anger Cindy had towards my expression of my feelings has subsided somewhat. Things were still rather cool last night, but email exchanges today regarding dinner plans were almost light in nature.

She�s even tolerant of the idea of me riding my bike to my Al Anon meeting tonight. Fates have conspired to leave me an ideal window of opportunity. I can wrap up work a little early today, get home & get my bike out and make the 19.6 mile trek to the meeting. Meeting takes an hour which is a very generous recovery period. Then it�s back in the saddle for the ride home. Here�s a quick look at the route: (works best in IE I�m afraid)

Bad part of the ride? The destination is a couple hundred feet lower in altitude that home. The first couple miles of the ride back will be uphill. But, since we live in the Great Lakes Basin, and I�ll only be a few miles from Lake Ontario itself, the hills here are really nothing. Further south, 30 � 40 miles away from the lake, there are some interesting hills. One or two of them are on the Tour de Cure route.

If I get a version of the Tour de Cure route I�ll try the same imbedding thing. Matter of fact, I may even start a separate blog on that to sorta record the training effort, post pics and maps of rides, etc. I might (might, I say) let Cindy in on it. Maybe. It sounds like SUCH a bad idea, daring those two worlds to meet.

Hmmph. Outside of the nascent peace process, I got very little. The forsythia are in bloom. A veritable riot of screaming yellow blossoms nearly everywhere. Our flowering plum has also erupted, which means the crab apple trees can�t be far behind.

Possible the best blooms will pop towards the end of May, sadly too early for the Tour de Cure ride. Those are the Honey Locust and Black Locust blossoms. Our former house in Scottsville had a few locust trees in the back yard. When the trees were in bloom and the wind was just right the house would be awash in the heady, vanilla aroma of the locust. Sweet, but not overly much. I find it very calming & soothing. Some of my training rides for the TDC will go right through groves of these trees, and it isn�t by accident.

Hey � now that you know where my house kinda sorta is, don�t go scheduling any bombing runs or anything, mmkay?

Better run, got a bike ride to sneak in. It�s gonna feel really good.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks