Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Wow, been that long?
2008-07-15, 11:56 a.m.

Day 1423

Bless me innernetz for I have sinned. Not posting in so long. Turribul (to quote Charles Barkley).

In my defense, I have been busy. Busy, busy, busy. Like the proverbial beaver. Ooh � speaking of beaver � nah, I won�t go there. But it was fun all the same.

So where was I? Thursday�s Al Anon meeting has been getting VERY sparsely attended lately. Way back in the end of June I volunteered to take the key to the church we met in. This is typically a 1 time deal. You get to show up a little early, get a pot of coffee started, get out some sample literature, do al the little �setting up� things that need to be done. Total investment? 15 minutes. Whoop-dee. The week I took the key, I was signing up to prep for the July 3rd meeting. Including me, there were 4 people at that meeting. One of them was their group rep who always shows up 20 minutes late because of a work ending/meeting beginning conflict. We all know it, we all accept it. The other 2 attendees? Not folks that regularly show up at that meeting. I knew them, but from other meetings. None of them were willing to take the key that week so I was saddled with it for last weeks meeting.

I had an opportunity come up Thursday night. Couldn�t take advantage of it. Why? I had the key for the church and was therefore committed to going to the Al Anon meeting. Where 5 people showed up. Again, none of them took the key. Two of the regulars had tickets to go see the show, �Menopause�, playing downtown I think. The other two people were not regular attendees, so once again, I have the key.

This week? Not looking good. I do have hopes that with the holiday being well past 3 other regular meeting folks will show and I can be relieved of the burden of the key. It�s not that I mind the setting up or having to be there early � it�s more that I mind HAVING to be there. I�d probably go anyhow � (I need the work) � but having to tote that damn key around really eliminates any options I might exercise.

Speaking of exercise, finally got back on the bike again and rode in to work. It�s been over a week since I commuted by bike. Questionable weather and external commitments conspired to keep me off the road. (I figure it�s not nice to show up at your therapists with a lovely sweaty sheen working. Attractive, I�m sure. And the smell? No thanks.)

So. Back in the saddle. Gorgeous morning for a ride. Kind of cool (50�s) so a light jacket was required. No wind to speak of, and apparently, I got out on the road ahead of all the asshole car drivers. Not all the car drivers, just the asshole drivers. I am however waaaayyy short on the caffeine this morning (commuter mugs of coffee just don�t work on a bike), so you�ll have to �scuse me while I go refill.

Heh. Fecking work. STILL NO COFFEE REFILL. Plenty of busted boards though. Supposed to have been �re-worked�. Makes me wonder just what the heck they did. Maybe they just �past your eyes�d� them.
Cuz I�m lazy & hurting for stuff - This weeks TMI Tuesday:


1. What were you known as in HS (Jock, Princess, Geek)
Cross between a jock & science nerd. Was in all the advanced classes, but could still kick butt in gym.

2. What were you really?
Cross between a jock & a nerd. (No really. That�s how engineers are born. Well, some of them.) Didn�t help that I was also from the wrong neighborhood. We got bussed in from 8 miles outside the village. Made after school activities kinda hard . . .

3. If you could go back and tell your 16 year old self one thing, what would it be?
Keep dating Mary, dummy.

4. If you could erase one moment from your school days what would it be?
The day I signed the papers to join the army in beautiful downtown Buffalo.

Or, this one day in gym class. We were playing volleyball. Last point of the period to determine which team wins the best 2 out of 3 for the class. We�re volleying back and forth and the ball gets spiked by the opposing team, hits the floor not 6 feet in front of me. The gym coach didn�t see the ball hit and asks me to make the call. Well, Reggie is right behind me, and tells me to call it out or he�ll kick my ass. I wasn�t so worried about Reggie � he was only 2 years older than me � I could probably take him. It was his brother (Wayne) and 3 cousins (Mike, Frank & Kip) that had me worried. They kinda hung in a gang. I was bigger than all of them one at a time, but all 6 at once? Ouch. So I called the ball out even though it was clearly in, by like 3 feet. I�ve been disappointed in myself about that ever since. As a consequence, I�ve tried to be really, really fair about calling stuff in sports ever since.


5. Who did you not date (or more) that you wish you did?
See Mary up there in #3. I dated plenty of girls, but Mary � geeze. Her parents sent her off to an all girls Catholic school and that kind of did us in. Well, that and me meeting Cindy and going to the army and . . .

Bonus (as in optional): If you went to prom, describe your outfit.
Being a guy I had it easy. Your dress is what color? Yeah, I can get a tux to match that. It was the 70�s. Wide lapels, ruffled shirts, flared legs � we�d have worn leisure suits if they�d let us. (No, not really)

Better get to work. Those circuit boards apparently can�t re-work themselves . . .



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks