Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

More Room Update
2008-12-16, 10:22 p.m.

Day 1577 More Room Update

Wait till you see pictures of the completely painted room with no furniture in it. All I can say is that right now, it�s like being stuck inside a sweet potato pie. Granted, the couch, a hutch, the floors, some drapes, wall hangings � all that will help. But when standing in that room, I can�t shake the impression that I�ve been swallowed by the Great Pumpkin (with a nod to the late Mr. Charles Schulz & Linus).

If you don�t get that last reference, what kind of childhood did you have? No Peanuts cartoons? Horrible.

Back to the room. To make matters worse (Q � I almost spelled that wores! What the hell am I thinking?) I think it�s going to need a third coat. Matter of fact, I KNOW it�s going to need a third coat. I was giving it a once over this morning, looking at it under the light of a lamp we like to call �The Sun�, and I can see some thin spots. I�m bummed. The kids put in some nice work on the painting. To have the paint not cover well is a disappointment. Eric had the day off from his paying gig, so he did a first coat in the room formerly known as the family room. It was a typical first coat � splotchy, possibly overworked by a less than experienced painter. Nevertheless, I was thrilled to have it done. On a first coat, any job is a good job.

Zach & Jill came over, we fed �em dinner and the four of us (Z, J, Eric & I) got to work again. Zach did the laundry room first coat, Jill ran the lights and kept the paint trays filled. Eric did some of the cutting in while trying to keep an eye on the Detroit hockey game (the boy is a serious fanatic). I got to start on moldings. Got the moldings to the point where I needed some opinions on styles, so I switched to cutting in the second coat in the family room. We�re going to need to re-do the ceiling edges. Got a few �excursions� up there.

Cindy is chaperoning tonight so I was hoping to stay at work till near my meeting time, grab a salad someplace and head to my group. Man, do I need a dose of that!

Hrrmm � picked up some moldings thingies to dress up a doorway. Also obviates the need for metal corners that need plastering. The sets I got are for an 80 inch tall by 36 inch wide doorway. Except I don�t have a door, it�s just an opening that�s 35 inches wide (I can cut off an inch) and 82.5 inches tall. Hence the hrrmm. I could cheat and stretch the plinth, but if it weren�t perfect, it would show. Doubt it would be perfect. Guess I get to take them back and get the separate pieces and roll my own. Dammit.

That�s putting a crimp in getting the floor in by Sunday. Still have a third (!!!) cat of paint to do, plus all the window & door trim and there�s all the base molding too. At least the base molding is after the flooring. Eh � might make it.

Off to bed with me. Spinning comes early tomorrow. Pedaling with Patty � don�t miss it. Unless there�s more than 3 inches of snow, then it�s hauling with Hall. Everybody will know come morning.

Less than 2 days till 50. Ugh.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks