Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Observations
2009-02-03, 11:02 p.m.

Day 1626

Things I�ve noticed lately:

1 � My last haircut was kinda wonky. Seems like there�s a bit of a shelf over my right temple/ear. I think the very preggers stylist assumed I combed my hair straight back, no doubt due it�s marvelous condition when I popped into the shop. It was a windy day and I am notorious for not really giving a hoot how my hair looks once it gets it�s initial combing after my shower.

2 � I tend to drive a wee bit fast. On expressways, I tend to favor the left lane and I try to keep a clear lane in front of me. Since I got the van�s muffler fixed a couple of weeks ago, I seem to drive even faster. I can�t hear the engine nearly as well and my speed sorta creeps up where it really shouldn�t be. For example � I have no qualms driving 65 on a 55mph expressway. This morning I looked down at the speedo only to find I was doing closer to 80 (in a 55) (another observation!!). While I am not fearful of driving that fast, I am a little fearful of the ticket that might result were some of the county or state�s finest around to witness it.

3 � My attitude at work could be better. Externally I think I�m fine. I still get rated as solid technically and a good team player, but my interest seems to be lacking. I don�t feel much of a sense of ownership for my assignments and it shows. There�s a certain sense of enthusiasm that just isn�t there. I�m having trouble getting my geek on. (And who really wants help fixing THAT?)

4 � Pep Boys sux. Again. Had an incident with them years ago related to them replacing parts I told them specifically to NOT replace. Of course, what they replaced didn�t fix the problem. I didn�t pay for the parts, and they paid to have the car moved to a competent garage.

They have again proven their incompetence. Cindy�s new engine? Necessitated because her former engine had no oil in it - about 3 weeks after Pep Boys was paid to do an oil change along with some other work.

When diagnosing �engine doesn�t run�, the mechanic at a local shop (NOT Pep Boys) couldn�t even get the motor to turn over manually by turning the crank with a big torque bar. Sucker was seized up. He asked if we ever checked the oil level.

Our response? �Well geeze, we just had it changed at Pep Boys a few weeks ago!� It seems like the idiot at Pep Boys drained the oil, replaced the drain plug, MAYBE replaced the filter and called it done. He seems to have forgot the part where changing the oil includes putting 5 quarts of new oil in the engine.

I don�t know that we have any recourse. How do you prove they didn�t put oil in? I still feel like going to their shop and chewing their butts for a while, see if maybe they feel guilty, sorry or just plain stupid. I doubt they�ll offer to pay for the new engine. But I will tell them I will never be back, I will never recommend their garage to anyone and I will freely share ALL the bad experiences I�ve had at their (and my) expense.

So be warned. Pep Boys hires incompetent mechanics that can�t follow instructions or complete the simplest jobs correctly. That�s my opinion and I�m sticking to it.

5 � I am at a glass shop during lunch, getting my windshield replaced. A younger guy comes in, dressed in a suit and overcoat. I�m guessing sales or lawyer. Maybe insurance. The waiting area is small. Too small to contain me, young stud lawyer and his cologne. Holy cow � it�s making my eyes water! I wonder if he uses the overpowering cologne trick to intimidate people into giving him what he wants. I am at least being successful at making him feel inadequate. I can play on my beast of a laptop, he�s stuck with his Blackberry.

6 � The route for the Philly edition of the Livestrong Challenge looks like, well, a challenge. I found a link to a G0ogle M@ps version that someone saved. There is apparently quite a climb leading to the rest stop in Landis Store. I need to give the map a good once over and compare it to what I�m used to riding around here as far as climbing goes. I�m ok with relatively short & steep climbs, and I can handle longer, moderately sloped climbs. But a 1 mile haul up a 15% grade would be a challenge. Can�t wait for spring so I can go beat up my legs outside.

Lizzylou � if I do find my way clear to riding in PA., it would be super to try and run into each other. Which of the rides are you signing up for? If I go, I have to be a masochist and do the century. But those PA hills � gotta train a little harder. Come on spring!



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks