Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Antsy
2006-09-21, 1:56 p.m.

Day 760 Antsy

Ten tons of work to get through. It just keeps getting piled on. Not even done with the FPGA coding for one project and I have to start considering laser drive options for another, plus maybe fret over another FPGA for yet a third. Nice to be wanted.

At an awkward stage with the FPGA code. Starting to build run able devices out of chunks of code, have to stitch all the pieces together. Fun tracing down all the threads, trying to remember WTF you were thinking a month ago when you wrote that module.

I get so antsy on Thursdays. Especially this Thursday. Bowling tonight (oh boy, oh boy, oh boy!!), work golf tourny tomorrow afternoon (70 degrees and sunny, YES!!). Can�t wait to get to either. But I�ll try and be a big boy and get all my work done first. (Right)

Cindy actually called and asked what I wanted for dinner tonight. On a bowling night. Odd behavior. I made a couple of reasonable suggestions, we bartered a bit and ended up with a workable solution. Very nice. We can still do this � it�s just going to take a wee bit of work.

Of course, Cindy is also standing on a slippery slope. One rational act does not a recovery make. Today is nothing. She�s still not admitted to a problem and hasn�t taken any steps to get better. We�re just having a good moment today. Odds are still good that when I get home tonight she�ll be snoozing (ie passed out) on the couch with dinner in a holding pattern on the stove.

Tomorrow night has potential for similar results. Saturday evening, she�s off chaperoning a couple of school soccer matches, so I�m left to my own devices from 4 till around 9.

What sort of trouble could I get into?? It�s even better that Sunday is an off day for me workout-wise � no getting up early for a trek to the gym. Might bike to Churchville, (route) but that�s different (and highly dependant on our fickle weather)

Target for bowling tonight: variable. My average is at 196, so a 588 for 3 would be acceptable. I would rather aim for something more in a 630 or so, ya know � a bit of a stretch goal. Real aim is to throw the ball more consistently. Slow steps, relax the arm swing, project it out on the target line, get good lift on the ball. (Yeah, I know � bowling mumbo jumbo. Those are my swing thoughts, in order). Just got to fire up that Ultimate Inferno (the new ball) and go take care of business.

Better go get some actual work accomplished, so I can bowl & golf guilt free.

Earning peace, one piece at a time.

Updated stats:

Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight: 185.25 on 9/19/06 More progress.
Next weigh in: 9/23/06 (have to get back to the Saturday weigh ins)

New target � Aim is 180, by Halloween.

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 9/21/06: 742.86
Miles with cool down: 817.25
Target for 2006: 1000 miles
Plus 161 miles biking so far. (160.99 for you choosy mothers)



If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks