Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Too busy to care
2004-09-10, 4:39 p.m.

Days 17 - 19 Too busy to worry about it

Been waaaaay to busy to be much concerned with smoking lately. Works been peachy, got a new PC and have been bringing it up to speed with all the funky applications I need. Most of them even run pretty good on the new beast. Got part of my new circuit board problem figured out - at least I can run them now. Still have to figure out why the new ISD configuration didn't want to work though. That part kinda sucks. Would have been a new way for our group to operate FPGA's and their programming.

The new bowling league started last night. Ouch. It's only been 11 years since I last bowled. For a 3 game set, I missed my old average by a total of 50 pins or so - most of that miss coming in the first two games. Now I'll have a big fat handicap until I get my bowling legs back. Funny how all the swing thoughts you used to have start to come back - keep the shoulders square, nice long follow through, don't rush the steps . . .

Left leg started feeling whipped by the end of the second game. Fingers & thumb were fine, but right wrist is acting a little cranky. Right shoulder is not doing too bad, surprisingly, especially considering the beating I give it.

Bowling team consists of me and 2 of my brothers (both younger). Of course, I've now got the lower average. Told one bro, D, about the quitting smoking thing something like 4 days into it. He's been asking how it's been going and has been pretty supportive. The other bro K, only found out about it last night, but is also quite supportive. Neither of them has smoked at all, so all they know about the difficulties of quitting is what they've heard, but at least they're offering encouragement and checking in on progress.

My mom, with whom I had dinner last week, also does not know that I've quit. Somehow never came up during dinner, and I haven't had an opportunity to tell her since. I'm sure I'll be seeing her again soon, fall clean up chores are coming along, as is deer season, so I'll be at her house plenty the next few months.

Saw another woodchuck in the back yard a few days ago. Managed to spook him under the shed. Got me trusty neck trap set and placed it right in front of the entrance to the burrow that's near the shed door. Blocked the other burrow entrance I knew of. Checked a few hours later and the trap had been sprung, but somehow it jammed against the underside of the shed and the bottoom of the burrow entrance. Bottom line is the woodchuck managed to escape. Dummy me reset the trap and left it there, hoping the woodchuck would be stupid enough to try and come back. Checked the trap next day - nothing in it. Check it again the following day - got something, but it looked kinda small. Pulled the trap out to find I'd gotten a rabbit. That's a first. Felt kinda bad about trapping a rabbit, but odds are he'd been helping himself to our veggies along with the woodchucks, so I guess it wasn't all bad.

19 days down, no homicides yet - well except for a rabbit & a couple of woodchucks. But I got my veggies durnit.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks