Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Less of zee whine - - -
2005-09-22, 12:33 p.m.

Day 395 Less of zee whine, more of zee cheese

Well, less whine anyhow. Can�t be having the cheese myself. Not good for my non-medicine taking butt ya know. So I thought I�d share it.

Racked my brain trying to come up with dinner ideas Tuesday. Emailed Cindy, trying to find out what she was up for. Turns out she�s chaperoning a school soccer game tonight, so I�m on my own anyhow. Looks like I�ll be having something after aerobics class.

Speaking of which, last week was the first time I was the only male in class. Well, it�s the first week I noticed it. Usually there�s at least one other guy (Angelo) and in the winter a third shows up (Mike) Then there�s usually a transient or two, checking things out or showing up with their wife for kicks. So anyhow � last week, the instructor (Lisa � definitely female) 14 other ladies and myself. If this keeps up I may have to go recruit some more men to take this class. I�m running the risk of getting over run by estrogen.


Later, in another part of town - -

That was a quick two days. Not much noteworthy happened either. The estrogen/testosterone balance was somewhat restored at aerobics Tuesday night. 4 whole guys in attendance, maybe 14 � 15 ladies. Packed class. You can tell summer is over and school has finally restarted. Evening crowds at the Y are starting to pick up. Even the mornings are getting a little crowded again. Ah well, mornings are still waaaaaay better than evenings.

Survived Tuesday�s dinner with Cindy out chaperoning. Yesterday (Wednesday) I noticed she didn�t get any meat out to thaw for dinner. So I ran downstairs and got a couple of pork chops out. Emailed her with a simple idea for a dinner menu. Chops, Uncle Bens Long grain & wild rice, some mixed veggie medley (cauliflower, carrots & snow peas) and a tossed salad. Got a four word response. �What ever. Sounds boring.� Yeah, what ever. Beats �what ever� she didn�t have planned. Survived that dinner too.

All this typing about dinner is making me hungry and it�s still an hour till lunch.


OK � now it�s lunch time. Brought lunch in to day, but I may still have to hit up the deli across the street for extra�s. A single sandwich and 4 pieces of fruit may not cut it, especially with bowling coming up tonight. Tough to shoot those high scores with your belly growling.

Asked Cindy if she wanted me to pick up something for dinner on my way home from bowling. She mumbled something about making something at home. But there was no meat out to thaw for cooking tonight. I can think of a few things that can be made with no thawed meat available. Some are ok � others I may not eat because of fat content. Maybe she�ll surf through FoodTV or Cooking Light or even the Wegmans (local grocery store) website, get inspired and pick up the ingredients on the way home. We stay pretty well stocked with staples, it�s just some of the specialty ingredients we need from time to time. Like thawed meat.

Jumped the gun a bit on dropping my meds. Doctor B said I could just stop taking them now. I figured I�d finish off the current prescriptions and not bother to refill them. Doctor B was fine with that. But it seems that I neglected to pack my medicine for our 2 day fishing extravaganza. So, rather involuntarily, I�m following my doctors orders and dropping the meds now. One thing about my blood pressure medicine, Hydrochlorothiazide (HCTZ) is, it�s a water pill. Resets your bodies idea of what your sodium level should be, thereby adjusting the amount of fluid your body retains. Less fluid in your body quite often will lower your blood pressure. Worked for me at least. Only now that I�m not taking the HCTZ anymore, I seem to be retaining fluids - enough fluids that I gained 4 pounds in 3 days. Maybe I�ll rethink hitting up the deli for some extra munchies before bowling. It�s going to take me 2 weeks to work off those 4 pounds and it�ll put me behind schedule.

Doctor B also asked my what my current plans were for weight loss. I told her that my target right now was to hit 190 by my birthday on 12/18 Once there, I�d modify my calorie intake to either stay there, or slowly drop down to 180, but no less. I had mentioned seeing something about a 6� tall male�s optimum weight being something like 165 lbs. Personally, I think that�s a little unrealistic. I�d look like a scarecrow being that skinny. Doctor B concurred and said 180 was a fine target. So � 50 pounds down, 35 to go. Plus a couple for retaining water. Maybe I need some Premarin??

Something along those lines may also be what�s affecting Cindy. I hope. She is 45 after all. Her periods are extremely irregular lately, after a lifetime of running like a clock. She�ll go months with nothing at all, then have a doozy. Her gyno (a male) said she was a little young to be considering menopause or even perimenopause. Doctor B (female and also Cindy�s GP doc), however, said that she may well be suffering the early stages of menopause. I�m siding with Doctor B on this one. Certainly would explain a few mood swings. Haven�t asked Cindy if she mentioned that as a symptom to either doctor. I kinda like my head to stay on my shoulders, thank you very much.

I�ve had enough of this aimless wandering. Time to get back to work. Need to get something accomplished by the end of the day. Get to spend the afternoon chasing around ghost signals, trying to figure out why my data acquisition path is as capricious as my wife. I�d like to think I could at least get the electronics to settle down and fly straight. Women on the other hand � guess I may never understand them.

395 days down. Hit my (lucky)13 month anniversary at Quitnet today.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks