Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Welcome to 2009
2009-01-01, 8:07 p.m.

Day 1593

This is what greeted us from the corner of the backyard this morning:

That�s the view to the north. The temp was hovering down around +12F, I think. Cindy had rejected all my attempts to get a thermometer. One of these days soon I�m just gonna get one and hang it out on the back porch. Just like that hammer drill I got the other day. For the fireplace. It was necessary, I swear. The drill itself is red & black, so I hope it kinda looks like some mish mash of my current drills � the black corded drill and the red cordless. Get a little dust on it and it�ll look old soon enough.

Hmmm. I distracted me. The view to the north was that lovely blue spruce. To the south, it unfortunately wasn�t any warmer. That view looked a little like this:

After that set of storms we had a couple of weeks ago there was over a foot of snow everywhere. Then we had a couple days in the 60�s (temps AND wind) and all that snow disappeared. Of course, the local creeks overflowed their banks and we had some localized flooding, the type usually reserved for spring. No biggie really. So after the thaw, we actually had bare ground showing. Until Tuesday night. That 8 or 9 inches outside now is complements of the latest system to come through. That gave us an even 45 inches of snow for the month of December � nearly half our seasonal average. And winter has only just started. Oy.

Laying low getting a lot of the finishing work done on the laundry & family room jobs. Most of the molding is in, just needs touch ups. Be time to switch over to the fireplace tomorrow, then it�s almost done. Might even get to enjoy a bit of no active projects for a bit before spring gets here.

As is habit I made no resolutions again this year. I DO want to trim off some weight I�ve managed to put back on. Poor choices in eating and a lack of serious working out. It�s time to hit the ellipticals on non spin days and add a little weight training back into the mix. Got away from the weight room and running and it shows.

Think I�ll wrap this up. Cindy is off to a new AA meeting so I had a wee bit of an opportunity to update.

Oh � one very important thing. Tonight (Thursday) marks the second consecutive week of no bowling. Damn holidays gotta go fall on Thursday�s this season. Now there�s only a week left till we bowl again. Can�t wait to get back at it. Hoping that the break helps to cure the funk I�ve been in. The bowling funk. That other funk? Eh � still there. The drinking is still happening, she�s just not doing it quite so much and she�s hiding it really, really well. But hell, I can see the bottles, I can see the levels decreasing. She�s just keeping it low key � for now. She�ll crack though. Then the consequences kick in.
But I�ve got 3 more days of no work to enjoy, so I�m gonna do my damndest to do just that.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks