Altering Habits



Sponsor My Ride!!

buddies
annanotbob
gr8chick
becca27
azzweepay
Pennyjar
sunpowered
Marn
Joiedv
Grouse
aliannmil
Mom-on-Roof
blueyedmom
Scotty's Place
Circe


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Weighdown Showdown
2006-05-06, 12:54 p.m.

Day 622 A Weigh Down with the Momster?

In what may be the first Saturday entry for this journal ever, there is a little announcement to make.

Seems that Sport down there in beautiful Pennsylvania wants to make me a little wager.

I still have about 14 pounds to lose to reach my weight goal. The always entertaining Sport would like to drop 8 pounds before the beginning of �swim suit� season. Sport has pointed out that since it seems that men can lose weight faster than women (old wives tale?) it might be fun to make a little wager between the two of us as to who can hit their goal before �swim suit� season officially starts.

Now, I�m tempted to take her up on this for two reasons. Sport, you listening to this? First, I live a couple hundred miles north of the Momster. That means my swim suit season starts a week or so LATER than hers. Gives me an extra week to sweat out those last few ounces. Second � the Momster has graciously posted pictures of herself in her diary. If you�ve seen those, you may agree with me in that I don�t think she has 8 pounds to lose.

Considering those two factors, I think I just may take her up on this little wager. Now, the extra week allowed for my more northerly latitude could be negotiable. We could settle on the beginning of swimsuit season in some neutral locale situated geographically between us � say Bradford, Pa, or even Williamsburg

Back in the days when the boys were still home, we�d open our pool right around Memorial Day weekend. I don�t consider that the start of swim suit season. Water was usually still too damn cold for adults to swim (i.e. under 80) By July 1, it was generally pretty safe for the older crowd to enter the water without risk of stopping ones heart momentarily. So I�ll propose July 1 as the official start of swim suit season for the Mom-on-Roof/Smokefree Weighdown Showdown.

Now � if anybody else is interested in getting a piece of this tomfoolery, feel free to join in. Drop me a line at y2l447 at that ya h00 dot com place (third character is a lower case L, I�ll assume y�all can figger out the rest of the decoding Hitting the �contact me� button will also reveal the email addy, I think). Nobody has to fess up their actual weight if they�d rather not. Lets just establish a goal (maybe 8 lbs for the ladies, 14 for any guys that are crazy enough to try) and keep track of weight lost rather than actual body weight. We can use Saturday as our official weigh in day. Track your results on/in your own diary and/or send them to me and I�ll post a summary every Monday till swim suit season is officially upon us. That�d be July 1 for the official NY/Pa backyard sunbathing season.

Momster wanted to add a little wager to the mix. Any suggestions? Swap guest entries? $10 gift card to Amazon? Really, if I were to lose and had to let Mom-on Roof do a guest entry � how is that losing? Losing would be having to do an entry for her site and live up to her standards. Or Serenaville �s site too. Tough acts to keep up with.

So there it is. The official Mom-on-Roof/Smokefree-me Weighdown Showdown � provided, of course, Mom-on-Roof and I can settle on terms, etc. I bet we can. Ought to be fun. Keep an eye here, in the notes section and on Mom-on-Roof�s pages (linked above) for updates on the frivolity.


Updated stats:
Weight start: 206.5 on 1/1/06 (265.0 on 1/15/05)
Current weight 193.75 on 5/5/06 (might be my official start weight!!)
Target: 180 by 7/1/06 (Start of swim suit season??)
Next �official� weigh in: 5/12/06

The Keep on Truckin goal: (idea stolen shamelessly from Marn�s Big Adventure)
Miles at speed 5/5/06: 341.02
Miles with cooldown: 375.65
Target for 2006: 1000 miles

Might have to add a little something for the 5K training too.


If you use a pop-up blocker, hit "Ctrl" when you click to leave a comment


|

old habits - new tricks